Baked Onion Dip II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
My husband loved this dip!!! I followed another recommendation and used 1 package reduced fat philly cream cheese, 1/2 cup lowfat sour cream and 1/2 cup mayo and it did not turn out greasy at all. I also added half swiss cheese and half cheddar and that made it perfect!! Would highly recommend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
Try baking this dish in a "bread bowl". I have found that the bread absorbes the oil. The dip itself is very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverhead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
This was great. I made changed based on other reviews. I cut the recipe in half. I used 1/2 cup mayo and 1/2 cup sour cream. I used 4 ounces cream cheese and 4 ounces cheddar. It was wonderful and not greasy at all. I will definatly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOMELA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
This recipe is quick, easy, cheap and incredibly good. I made this one Saturday afternoon for friends who were coming over to watch some t.v and just hang out...it was gone within a good 15-20 minutes. For those that complain about the grease, I suggest doing 1 cup mayonaise and 1 cup sour cream to cut down on the grease. You could also use reduced-fat cheddar cheese and mayonaise. Excellent recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
I used a monteray/cheddar blend for the cheese and it was not greasy. Be sure to cut the recipe in half for a small crowd as it makes a lot! Otherwise great! I also added the leftovers to a cheddar rice soup for added flavor. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
This is a really quick and easy dip to prepare. I whipped the ingredients together in no time before a New Year's party, and then jumped in the shower. When I was out of the tub, the dish was ready. I wish reviewers would stop complaining about the grease. There is mayonnaise in the dip, of course it's greasy. Very easy to repair the grease issue, though-just get a few paper towels and sop it up. This dip was gone in about an hour. Thank you for the recipe - and Jamieson loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
I really loved the taste of this dip but it was way to greasy. I was hoping that using low fat cheese and mayo it would be ok..but it wasnt. I doubt I would make this dip again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2002
Absolutely awful. I used light mayo and still had literally 1-1/2 cups of grease just swimming in it. (And that's what I could drain.) The mayo curdled during baking. I couldn't eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
People at my party loved this dip. I must have five people ask me for the receipe. Lot's oohh's and ah's. I followed one of the reviewer's suggestions with half cheddar and half swiss and mix in parm cheese, plus added it on top. It was very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
This dip was a HUGE hit at our family Christmas!! If you loves hot cheese and onion, this one is the BEST! I served with crackers and it went quickly. So easy too. Would work well with chips too. I used old cheddar and white onions. Mmmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Brunsdon Wilson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States