Baked Onion Dip II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I tweaked this recipe - I used parmesan, swiss, cheddar, and mozzarella cheeses (all shredded). Don't make the mistake of using Miracle Whip - I did that once. Though I like Miracle Whip, it's taste overwhelms the ingredients - use regular mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
delicious tasting, but it was substantially oily as others have indicated. that being said, using large chunks of french bread to mop it up was very tasty! i will try light mayo or maybe a mixture of it and sour cream or something next time, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jason F.
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This dip did taste good but I could only eat so much of it in one sitting. The onion flavor is great but I found the dip to be very heavy and rich overall. I served it with mixed crackers and multigrain tostitos. I also found that 45 minutes was too long to leave it in the oven for. Next time I will check it after 35 minutes. My oven does seem to cook hot though so I would just keep an eye on it to make sure it doesn't get too brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Very good. I substiture 1/2 of the mayo for sour cream. It makes it less greasy. A very yummy and easy dip but is a little greasy. Just skim off with paper towel after finished in oven. Taste is still good. CALORIE LOADED!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Peoria, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Instead of being unhappy with the greasiness, consider that it removes the grease for you. Just, pour, spoon or blot (with paper towels) the grease off! That makes it lower fat than others. We make this every year for our New Year's Eve party. I originally saw it years ago with swiss so that's what I use. Top it with sliced almonds and it's pretty and tasty. Thanks for the recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gluten Free Jeannie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Everyone loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaLee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Yummy dip, but was really greasy...will try the lite mayo and cheese next time as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
A good variation to cut down on the greasiness is to use swiss cheese. Also, a few dashes of paprika on top make it look pretty and adds a touch of flavor. Your guests will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This dip (with a few tweaks) was fantastic! I also cut down on the mayo and added in about a cup of sour cream. This made the dip really creamy. A houseful of college students (even onion haters) went crazy for this dip at our Super Bowl party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A.Murphree

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webb City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Marshall, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I was looking for a simple recipe to make for our superbowl party and this worked. It was a big hit. Got lots of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States