Baked Omelet Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Eric
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
Excellent receipe. I failed miserably with the thicker glass pan, even with non-stick spray. I tried again with a 10x15 jelly roll pan, and the results were fantastic. Rolled so much easier! I submitted the photo for this recipe, so you can see how nice it rolled up. I'd highly recommend adding whatever typical omelette ingredients you prefer (ham, green peppers, etc). The taste may be a little plain without any -- just like a normal omelette would. I also used sharp cheddar to bring out the cheese taste as well. Makes for a very nice presentation, especially compared to how simple it is to arrange. After rolling, sprinkle a little extra cheese and parsley flakes on the top, and it will look very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
264 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
This is delicious. Twenty minutes is too long to cook however. I replaced the milk with half water, half milk. (fluffier and lighter) I added mushrooms, onions, greenpepper and broccoli. I think I used about 1/2 the flour too. I cooked it for 10 minutes and took it out and put on the cheese and veggies and rolled quickly. It's hot, but it comes up easier if it's still very warm. I took it work for a parent appreciation breakfast and I had to give the recipe out to several ladies. **Oh, and I used a bisquit pan and poured the eggs in it when the pan was already in the oven.** Didn't spill a drop! I used crisco to grease pan and it came loose very easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
202 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
Wow! I did a test run of this recipe this morning and I thought it was great. Tomorrow for company I will add extra goodies like sauteed mushroom and onions or diced tomato and avocado, but today I made the recipe as written but used colby jack cheese instead of cheddar. I lowered the oven to 425 and cooked it for 10 minutes. It probably could have cooked for only 8 and been done. I sprayed a glass 9x13 baking dish generously with Pam and it rolled beautifully, cut like a dream, and had an overall unique and neat presentation. My only complaint is that my three year old who eats ANYTHING wasn't so thrilled with this. That said, I really just want to make it for company. It is an interesting crossover between a crepe and eggs. For those who reduce the flour, I think it will lose some of the "crepeness" of it and I could see where it would just taste like eggs and cheese at that point. It is mildly flavored so add spices and fillings to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
201 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
This was very good, but after reading through ALL the reviews, I did change it up some. I decided to still review this because I feel that this is a great method and it really has a lot of potential with a few changes. I used 9 eggs, reduced the flour to 1/4 cup, about 3/4 cup milk and the salt and pepper. After blending, I mixed in a little chives, dill and parsley. I poured it into a 10x15 sheet pan that was well sprayed with cooking spray and put it in the oven @ 350 degrees, until just set (it took about 8 mins. in mine, but my oven is very hot). I removed it, loosened the edges w/ a spatula and sprinkled it with some finely chopped onions and green peppers that I sauteed in a little olive oil, salt, pepper and garlic powder and then topped it w/ the cheese. I popped it back in the oven for about 2-3 minutes, just until the cheese melted, took it out and let it sit for maybe 4-5 mins. and then rolled. It rolled beautifully, cut perfectly and tasted delicious. Again, I just wanna say that this IS a great method of cooking an omelet, it just needs tweaked a little, IMO. I will definately be making this again and I can't wait to try it with different veggies and meats added! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Been making this for 15 years and finally learned a few tricks to making this work. No more scraping my glass pans & ending up w/ an ugly roll that is half stuck to the pan. Now I Use large cookie sheet lined with parchment paper. It rolls up beautifully w/ no mess to clean. I also only bake at 400 or 425 for less time. Lastly I use 1/2 water, 1/2 half n half instead of the milk & add a few shakes of dry mustard to the mixture. Now I end up w/ a beautiful & tasty roll I am proud to present.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
Easy and quite a pretty addition to our Christmas Brunch table. Reading the previous reviews, I used additional fillings - - among them, raw sliced mushrooms that baked into the omelette wonderfully. HINT: Lining the pan with a large piece of parchment paper makes rolling a cinch. Thanks Lori!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2002
Of course this is not really an omelete. This recipe should really be called Rolled Baked Eggs. Omelet's are made in pans and take about 1 minute to cook (if that) and are not that easy to get right. Baked eggs do not taste like omelet's nor do they have the same texture. Nevertheless, this recipe is fair and the simplicity is there. Taste is ok if you go with the original recipe but I second the motion to add whatever your fave fillings are and don't try to serve it "rolled up." Just serve it from the dish you baked it in. It's baked eggs, which are are wonderful, but it's not an omelet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2001
Don't use butter to grease the pan for this recipe. It burns and makes it hard to roll the omelet when its done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I don't remember where I originally got this recipe but my recipe says to line the baking sheet with greased parchment paper. It makes it MUCH easier to roll. Also I roll from the long edge, the other roll makes for too much omelet, plus you can feed more people rolling from the long side. I sometimes add salsa before I roll and then serve with sour cream and avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2003
Added some cubed ham and chopped green onions. Loved the fact that this was baking while I was concentrating on making our pancakes and hashbrowns. Like the reviewer before me - the combinations and additions are endless! Thanks Lori!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Omelet Roll

What a great way to feed a hungry breakfast crowd!

Baked Omelet Squares

Savory squares of baked eggs, mushrooms, olives, ham, jalapenos, and cheese.

Baked Denver Omelet

It's baked like a frittata, with ham, bell pepper, onions, and Cheddar cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States