Baked Omelet Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I made this for breakfast this morning and it was fantastic. It's nice for a Sunday morning when you have more time available for cooking. After reading the reviews I decreased the flour to 1/4 c and used my jelly roll pan with parchment paper on it for easier rolling. I baked it for 10 minutes and added softened onions, green peppers and the cheese. I baked it 1 minute more to melt the cheese took out and immediately rolled it. I used the potholder and parchment paper to roll it so I didn't burn my hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pataskala, Ohio, USA
Living In: Syracuse, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
For those of you who complained about the flour taste, leave it out. I have been making this for 20 years and never use flour. But be sure to use the parchment paper or well greased foil.For kids I slice two thin pieces of the roll and place on a plate to form a butterfly with small strips of sweet red pepper for antennae.They think it is awesome and gobble it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Halved the recipe for my husband and I. Decided to put some sprinkles of onion powder, dry mustard, garlic powder. Also misread recipe and added the cheese to the liquid ingredients. It turned out great! I also sprinkled cheese when I pulled it out of oven. And the cookie sheet/parchment paper that another reviewer mentioned worked wonderfully. Very easy to roll up. Next time might add some chopped broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I don't remember where I originally got this recipe but my recipe says to line the baking sheet with greased parchment paper. It makes it MUCH easier to roll. Also I roll from the long edge, the other roll makes for too much omelet, plus you can feed more people rolling from the long side. I sometimes add salsa before I roll and then serve with sour cream and avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I just made this, this morning and my husband loves it! I will make again and try lowering the temp. and cooking it less as it did get a little too brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I must say, I think Baked Omelet Roll is an excellent name for this recipe. If cooking for say, 4 or fewer, I'd make custom omelets. But I made it for my church choir as a thank you breakfast after they worked super hard for a series of successful Christmas concerts. It was perfect for this. I made 3 pans, and set out an eight compartment lazy susan with various toppings (crublbled bacon, smoked salmon, salsa, etc.) Made a super nice presentation, and I could actually sit down with them and enjoy, rather than standing there and cooking 20 separate omelets. Great concept!! I'll use it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Excellent recipe, very easy to make. This comes out of the oven very fluffy and soft and its very edible. The taste with the original ingredients might end up being a little bland, so you can add what you like to the recipe to give it your own taste ! I had to bake it in my oven for about 14 minutes at 200 degrees. Used a glass bowl for baking and greased it well with olive oil on a tissue paper so there was no problem with stickiness at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I have made a lot of omelettes. I think it sounds fool proof and fantastic! A simple suggestion: maybe top with some salsa, or I like to make omelettes the next day after making homemade spaghetti sauce. Consider putting it on before AND after you roll the omelette up. Ummmmm Good! I am going to try this tomorrow, as I have spaghetti sauce simmering on the stove as i write. What a nice coincidence!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danatboise

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Been making this for 15 years and finally learned a few tricks to making this work. No more scraping my glass pans & ending up w/ an ugly roll that is half stuck to the pan. Now I Use large cookie sheet lined with parchment paper. It rolls up beautifully w/ no mess to clean. I also only bake at 400 or 425 for less time. Lastly I use 1/2 water, 1/2 half n half instead of the milk & add a few shakes of dry mustard to the mixture. Now I end up w/ a beautiful & tasty roll I am proud to present.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodie94
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
So much easier than making individual omelets! I used 8 eggs & 1/4c flour. I am making this for our Xmas breakfast buffet this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodie94

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Omelet Roll

What a great way to feed a hungry breakfast crowd!

Baked Omelet Squares

Savory squares of baked eggs, mushrooms, olives, ham, jalapenos, and cheese.

Baked Denver Omelet

It's baked like a frittata, with ham, bell pepper, onions, and Cheddar cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States