Baked Omelet Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I made this recipe this morning and it was a hit! I changed a few things to my taste. 1. I used heavy cream instead of milk. 2. I used about 1/4 cup of flour with a little water to make sure it mixed in properly. 3. Added dried herbs and spices (any will do). Blend away! Heated oven to 400 degrees instead so I could be sure not to over bake my magic eggs;). While waiting for oven, I grilled up a little onion, crisped some bacon and mixed those bad boys up on the side. Followed recipe at this point and made sure to PAM the heck out of my Pyrex(this was key). Ok, back to my style, at about the 10 minute mark, I added a thin layer of blue cheese, bacon,onion, and sharp cheddar cheese. Don't over do it! You have to roll this thing remember. I finished in oven (about 12 more minutes). I checked for the jiggle in da middle, if you know what I mean to make sure it was done(no jiggle=done). Last but not least, I cut up some avocado and added it at the end. Pull edges away from sides and slide out onto a cutting board. Gently roll and sprinkle with more cheese on top. Now go wow the mouthes waiting for you! Good luck!;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
We loved it! We like our omelette full and spicy, so I added some dry mustard and hot sauce to the egg mixture. For the filling, I sautéed some onions and broccoli. Before rolling I spread the veggies, then the cheese. It was beautiful and delicious. My husband doused his with salsa. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This is definitely a keeper in our house. Thanks to the comments of others I was able to have a successful experience the first time out. Cut the flour in half; used half water and half milk; put the egg mixture in a parchment-lined jelly roll pan; cut the oven temperature and cooking time back; and added a layer of sauteed ingredients after it came out of the oven and before rolling (green onions, celery, green peppers, fresh mushrooms and diced ham) along with the cheese. Next time I plan to add some spinach, too. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buttonbelly Farm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I have used this technique for over 25 + years (minus the flour) and in many restaurants during my career. Variations such as spinach, sausage, roasted red peppers are to name a few. pleasing to the eye and the tummy as well. Try lining the pan w/ either foil or parchment to solve sticking problems. Chef Spencer Shadden
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cassandra
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I definitely agree with the other reviews when saying it is too much flour. It rose very high when baking. It settled just enough for me to fold it over into half like an omelet. I cut the recipe down by half so that I wouldn't make as much and I cooked it in a glass pie pan. It took 15 mins to cook and I added sausage while cooking and chopped tomatoes when done. After folding the omelet I topped it with salsa. It actually ended up being great to eat but the recipe needed rewriting a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassandra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milledgeville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Tried this today. Guys liked it. I used Baby Swiss cheese. Liked like a giraffe coat when I took it out of oven. Thought it had too much flour in it? I need to read other reviews. Best thing? It's EASY to do! Will try it again .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harriet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Yummy! Super easy and we could all eat at the same time. I added more cheese and ham that I had leftover! 20 minutes is way too long. It only took about 12~!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I made this omelet this morning. Wow!!! It was awesome. I made it for 1 person and it came out perfect. I used 1 egg, 1/8 tsp of both salt and pepper, 2 tbsp & 2 tsp fat free milk, 1/4 tsp onion powder & garlic powder, 1/4 tsp pasley flakes, 1/4 tsp Mrs.Dash seasoning, 1/2 tsp flour, cut up 1/2 piece of small ham steak, a few chopped onions, and put in a blender then shredded 1/4 cup fresh chedder cheese and put aside the cheese. I lined an 8x8 glass pan with parchment paper, put it in a 425 degree preheated oven and baked for 15 minutes. At 10 mins in the oven, I added the cheese on top and finish baking for 5 more mins. It came out perfect and rolled with unbelievable ease onto a plate. I then proceeded to consume it. Wow, it was delicious and so easy to make. I will definitely be making this one again. Even though I downsized to 1 person, it came out perfect. It is a versatile recipe that you can use anything you have on hand. I have to give this one 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTY456

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
super easy recipe I've used for sometime now. I add chopped ham, peppers and onions. Great for company brunch. I serve mine with a side of hash browned potatoes and a bid dish of salsa. Some toast and fruit salad....Voila! Brunch is served :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
What a clever idea, this makes a nice change to the usual egg dishes. I used 8 eggs and 1/4 cup of flour. I used spring onions and diced ham with fresh parsley chopped up as well as the cheese, it was very tasty and easy to put together, thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Palmer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geelong, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Omelet Roll

What a great way to feed a hungry breakfast crowd!

Baked Omelet Squares

Savory squares of baked eggs, mushrooms, olives, ham, jalapenos, and cheese.

Baked Denver Omelet

It's baked like a frittata, with ham, bell pepper, onions, and Cheddar cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States