Baked Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
I doubled and put in a 13x9 pan. Used half applesauce and half butter plus 1/2 cup of raisins. Baked for 45 minutes. Thank you for the recipe, Josh. It is fabulous and my boys adore it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
On behalf of Weeble & that I can't copy & paste her comment from the Buzz in my notes: "mmmmmmm....i looove my steel cut oats! i eat them every morning. i'm the only one that eats so i make enough for four or five days. pour one cup of steel cut oats into three and a half cups of boiling water. i add a little salt to the water. let it come back to a boil and boil for a min. turn off the heat, put the lid on and leave overnight. in the morning take your portion and put the rest in the fridge for the rest of the week! i add nuts, brown sugar, maple syrup, a couple shakes of apple pie or pumpkin pie spice,chopped up apples, blueberries, anything goes!" 'Don't think she'll mind. :D :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
So easy and good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I used 1/2 c brown sugar instead of 3/4 c. Also added 1.5-2 cups chopped apple, and added some nutmeg and cloves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Delicious healthy breakfast. A big hit with my kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This is my favorite recipe and I change it up every time depending on what's in the fridge. Today I added a cup of applesauce and cut the butter to 1T and the milk in half. I also cut the brown sugar in half and didn't miss it. I added apple and banana as well and it was great! I cook it on Sunday morning so I'll have leftovers for the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
As written, this is an excellent, crowd-pleasing, very tasty, very easy recipe. I like to prepare this recipe as directed when I have overnight guests. It's a little rich for a weekday breakfast with the family though, so when I'm just making it for the kiddos, I cut the butter, the brown sugar, and the salt in half. The end result is drier than the original recipe and the consistency is similar to a fluffy scone, but it's still delightful, easy, tasty, and even my toddlers enjoy it. This is also a very versatile recipe as well. One variation I like is to add a cup or two of chopped apples, plus an extra teaspoon of cinnamon, a half teaspoon of nutmeg, and a quarter teaspoon each of ginger and cloves. Thank you for a wonderful recipe and a new breakfast staple in our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Excellent for dessert with ice cream. I reduced the salt by half, used 1/2 cup of brown sugar and used apple sauce instead of butter. Forgot to mentioned, put 1/2 cup of blueberry....was a success with the family. ********update - even better for breakfast with milk. will be a keeper as so versatile****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Thank you for this recipe. It had become one of our favorite breakfasts! I do leave out the maple syrup to cut down on the sugar. This is the only way I can get two of my kids to eat oatmeal for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Alright: I have made several baked oatmeals from Allrecipes and up until this one, the one with blueberries was a hit in our home. We just had this for breakfast this morning. I made it with a few common changes in baking: replaced half the butter with applesauce. Lowered the brown sugar to about 1/2 cup, maybe a little less (did not measure). I added an apple and some chopped pecans as someone suggested. I stuck WITH the maple syrup and sued Canadian because well, it is a healthy edulcorant imo. When I mixed it all, it was a bit of a dry-looking mix, so I added one egg, which I had use in other oatmeal recipes. What is outstanding about this is the flavor. With the nuts, maple and cranberries, it is just... old school. Barely sweet, nutty, cinnamoney, and yummy. Hats off, joshllorio :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States