Baked Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I used 1/2 c brown sugar instead of 3/4 c. Also added 1.5-2 cups chopped apple, and added some nutmeg and cloves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Delicious healthy breakfast. A big hit with my kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This is my favorite recipe and I change it up every time depending on what's in the fridge. Today I added a cup of applesauce and cut the butter to 1T and the milk in half. I also cut the brown sugar in half and didn't miss it. I added apple and banana as well and it was great! I cook it on Sunday morning so I'll have leftovers for the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
As written, this is an excellent, crowd-pleasing, very tasty, very easy recipe. I like to prepare this recipe as directed when I have overnight guests. It's a little rich for a weekday breakfast with the family though, so when I'm just making it for the kiddos, I cut the butter, the brown sugar, and the salt in half. The end result is drier than the original recipe and the consistency is similar to a fluffy scone, but it's still delightful, easy, tasty, and even my toddlers enjoy it. This is also a very versatile recipe as well. One variation I like is to add a cup or two of chopped apples, plus an extra teaspoon of cinnamon, a half teaspoon of nutmeg, and a quarter teaspoon each of ginger and cloves. Thank you for a wonderful recipe and a new breakfast staple in our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Excellent for dessert with ice cream. I reduced the salt by half, used 1/2 cup of brown sugar and used apple sauce instead of butter. Forgot to mentioned, put 1/2 cup of blueberry....was a success with the family. ********update - even better for breakfast with milk. will be a keeper as so versatile****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Thank you for this recipe. It had become one of our favorite breakfasts! I do leave out the maple syrup to cut down on the sugar. This is the only way I can get two of my kids to eat oatmeal for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Alright: I have made several baked oatmeals from Allrecipes and up until this one, the one with blueberries was a hit in our home. We just had this for breakfast this morning. I made it with a few common changes in baking: replaced half the butter with applesauce. Lowered the brown sugar to about 1/2 cup, maybe a little less (did not measure). I added an apple and some chopped pecans as someone suggested. I stuck WITH the maple syrup and sued Canadian because well, it is a healthy edulcorant imo. When I mixed it all, it was a bit of a dry-looking mix, so I added one egg, which I had use in other oatmeal recipes. What is outstanding about this is the flavor. With the nuts, maple and cranberries, it is just... old school. Barely sweet, nutty, cinnamoney, and yummy. Hats off, joshllorio :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Very Tasty! My two year old thought she was having a "cookie in a bowl" for breakfast! After reading a few comments beforehand, I did reduce the sugar to 1/2C (I bet 1/3C would even work) and I cut the salt in half. Delicious! Will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I will be giving this one another try! I think I cooked it too long bc it more so turned out as a oatmeal loaf rather than being a creamy yet thick oatmeal like i was expecting. The flavor was still good and went well with out breakfast supper we had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
My family loves this recipe! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great. Since then I have added my own twist. When I have over ripe bananas is when I make this oatmeal the most, better than banana bread. :). I add 1/2 c stevia and 1/4 c coconut sugar instead of brown sugar, and 1/4 c of agave nectar instead of maple sugar. I also add frozen cranberries to the mix and that has to be one of my favorite ingredients! We have tried all different kinds of fruit and it always turns out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States