Baked Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Thank you for this recipe. It had become one of our favorite breakfasts! I do leave out the maple syrup to cut down on the sugar. This is the only way I can get two of my kids to eat oatmeal for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Alright: I have made several baked oatmeals from Allrecipes and up until this one, the one with blueberries was a hit in our home. We just had this for breakfast this morning. I made it with a few common changes in baking: replaced half the butter with applesauce. Lowered the brown sugar to about 1/2 cup, maybe a little less (did not measure). I added an apple and some chopped pecans as someone suggested. I stuck WITH the maple syrup and sued Canadian because well, it is a healthy edulcorant imo. When I mixed it all, it was a bit of a dry-looking mix, so I added one egg, which I had use in other oatmeal recipes. What is outstanding about this is the flavor. With the nuts, maple and cranberries, it is just... old school. Barely sweet, nutty, cinnamoney, and yummy. Hats off, joshllorio :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Very Tasty! My two year old thought she was having a "cookie in a bowl" for breakfast! After reading a few comments beforehand, I did reduce the sugar to 1/2C (I bet 1/3C would even work) and I cut the salt in half. Delicious! Will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I will be giving this one another try! I think I cooked it too long bc it more so turned out as a oatmeal loaf rather than being a creamy yet thick oatmeal like i was expecting. The flavor was still good and went well with out breakfast supper we had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
My family loves this recipe! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great. Since then I have added my own twist. When I have over ripe bananas is when I make this oatmeal the most, better than banana bread. :). I add 1/2 c stevia and 1/4 c coconut sugar instead of brown sugar, and 1/4 c of agave nectar instead of maple sugar. I also add frozen cranberries to the mix and that has to be one of my favorite ingredients! We have tried all different kinds of fruit and it always turns out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I made this recipe without maple syrup and only using egg whites for a healthier version. I also didn't add cranberries. It was AMAZING! As I served it to my family I heard "wow!"'s and "yum!"'s. Everyone loved it. It's excellent in a bowl of milk, but great alone, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This is a warm, comforting fall breakfast. We added apples and Michigan cherries for the fruit. It is a hearty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
I have made this recipe 3 times now. The first time I followed the recipe exactly and, like other reviewers, the kids and I found it much to sweet. The second time I made it I omitted the brown sugar and added a handful of pumpkin seeds... it came out fantastic! This morning I made it again using only a half cup of brown sugar and replaced the butter with a pureed apple and apricot I had on hand. I also threw in a few spoons of canned cranberries (I had no dried) and replaced the butter with pureed apple, apricot and apple juice. We also used almond and coconut milk. Very delicious with just the right amount of sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Very delicious! I made this adding toasted walnuts along with corn syrup (because I didn't have maple) and it was wonderful. I as well poured in some milk after it was done (great addition). Thanks so much joshllorio for sharing a wonderful change in oatmeal family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I make this often and for groups as large as 30. A few tips, use applesauce in place of butter and egg whites in place of whole to reduce fat. I also add diced granny smith along with the cranberries and sometimes add pecans. Go either/or on the brown sugar/maple syrup, can make it too sweet. One final thing, serve with fat free greek vanilla yogurt..THE BOMB!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefSam

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Barberton, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States