Baked Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2015
Not a fan of regular morning oatmeal because of the squishy, sticky texture... this recipe is GENIUS. I LOVE the texture of the baked oatmeal. I didn't have maple syrup. I did add some chopped pecans, and it was SO delicious! Ate it warm with a bit of milk poured over the top... YUM!! Making a double batch to cut up and freeze for quick breakfasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Amazing. I wouldn't change a thing if making this as a special indulgent breakfast :) Since this has become my 'go to' breakfast I made a couple minor changes to save (just a few)calories. I prefer steel cut oats, so I used those. I cut the brown sugar to 1/4 cup and substituted applesauce for the butter. (My husband loves the butter taste so I "butter" the top when serving.) I double the recipe, and freeze individual squares in separate sandwich bags - they are perfect for a grab-n-go breakfast to heat quickly at home or work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
I doubled and put in a 13x9 pan. Used half applesauce and half butter plus 1/2 cup of raisins. Baked for 45 minutes. Thank you for the recipe, Josh. It is fabulous and my boys adore it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
On behalf of Weeble & that I can't copy & paste her comment from the Buzz in my notes: "mmmmmmm....i looove my steel cut oats! i eat them every morning. i'm the only one that eats so i make enough for four or five days. pour one cup of steel cut oats into three and a half cups of boiling water. i add a little salt to the water. let it come back to a boil and boil for a min. turn off the heat, put the lid on and leave overnight. in the morning take your portion and put the rest in the fridge for the rest of the week! i add nuts, brown sugar, maple syrup, a couple shakes of apple pie or pumpkin pie spice,chopped up apples, blueberries, anything goes!" 'Don't think she'll mind. :D :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
So easy and good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I used 1/2 c brown sugar instead of 3/4 c. Also added 1.5-2 cups chopped apple, and added some nutmeg and cloves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Delicious healthy breakfast. A big hit with my kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This is my favorite recipe and I change it up every time depending on what's in the fridge. Today I added a cup of applesauce and cut the butter to 1T and the milk in half. I also cut the brown sugar in half and didn't miss it. I added apple and banana as well and it was great! I cook it on Sunday morning so I'll have leftovers for the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
As written, this is an excellent, crowd-pleasing, very tasty, very easy recipe. I like to prepare this recipe as directed when I have overnight guests. It's a little rich for a weekday breakfast with the family though, so when I'm just making it for the kiddos, I cut the butter, the brown sugar, and the salt in half. The end result is drier than the original recipe and the consistency is similar to a fluffy scone, but it's still delightful, easy, tasty, and even my toddlers enjoy it. This is also a very versatile recipe as well. One variation I like is to add a cup or two of chopped apples, plus an extra teaspoon of cinnamon, a half teaspoon of nutmeg, and a quarter teaspoon each of ginger and cloves. Thank you for a wonderful recipe and a new breakfast staple in our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Excellent for dessert with ice cream. I reduced the salt by half, used 1/2 cup of brown sugar and used apple sauce instead of butter. Forgot to mentioned, put 1/2 cup of blueberry....was a success with the family. ********update - even better for breakfast with milk. will be a keeper as so versatile****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States