Baked Oatmeal II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
!AWESOMENESS! I *loath* regular oatmeal - seriously, the consistency simply makes me gag even though I adore everything associated with oats. This recipe is the bomb (having already scarfed a huge bowl down). Made a half recipe with only change being (as so many recommended) cut brown sugar in half and used 2T butter along with 2 heaping T of applesauce. Baked in an 8x8" pan for 35" - soft without that goopy stick in the back of your throat sensation. Love it! Thanks so much for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I halved the sugar, added 2 TBSP flax, omitted the dried cranberries and substituted unsweetened applesauce for the butter. My son and I loved this oatmeal! He likes it warmed up in the morning before school. I make it the night before and then keep it in the fridge. It makes a great quick breakfast! It was like cake. My husband said it would be good with cool whip on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I left out the craisens and halved the brown sugar. I also used applesauce instead of butter to make it healthier. It was SOOO good! A great way to get my kids to eat fiber and a easily portable healthy snack. I will probably make it in an 8x8 next time as the 9x13 made it quite thin and it was done after only 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I make this every weekend. It is easy to make and so delicious. Like other reviewers, I reduced the sugar to 1/3 cup and use coconut sugar as it is unrefined. It is still pretty sweet! I may try reducing even further or using 1/4 cup honey instead. Love how versatile this is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Very good as written--like a less sweet oatmeal cookie. My only complaint is that 40 minutes seemed too long a bake time, and that you probably should grease the pan before putting the mixture in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I used crasins instead of rasins, very good! Just be careful, they don't take as long to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rowangrey
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Delicious and easy to throw together! Next time I might try adding less brown sugar and see what happens. It's delicious as-is, but might be too much sugar first thing in the morning. You can throw in whatever dried fruit you have on hand. I used a mix of blueberries and cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Fantastic as is but I upped the milk by 1/2 cup then added 3/4 c slivered almonds, 1/2 c flax seed and a cubed skinless medium apple. Even better if you use a power dried berry blend. Another alternative I did was adding pumpkin puree, nutmeg, chopped pecans and chopped dates. Very nice for a fall version. I make a pan of this every week and then put it in a big bowl in the fridge. Scoop a little every day and nuke it for 30 seconds. Nutritious, healthy breakfast every day. Love it! Everyone at my work makes it now too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Huntley, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
oh so YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Fencl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This was fabulous! Reduced the sugar, added a little applesauce. Used strawberries and milk chocolate chips with no dried fruit but I think it's infinitely adaptable. Instead of mixing the butter in, I melted about 1/4 c of butter and drizzled it on top of the casserole right before baking. I think this was plenty of butter. Delicious and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 496) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States