Baked Oatmeal II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This was fabulous! Reduced the sugar, added a little applesauce. Used strawberries and milk chocolate chips with no dried fruit but I think it's infinitely adaptable. Instead of mixing the butter in, I melted about 1/4 c of butter and drizzled it on top of the casserole right before baking. I think this was plenty of butter. Delicious and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
We had a Ladies Tea This morning, one of the dishes I made was the Baked Oatmeal, the ladies loved it. One of them who doesn't even like oatmeal enjoyed it very much. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I made this recipe on Sunday and we had it for a quick breakfast all week - just microwave with some milk. I cut the sugar to 1/3 cup and it was still plenty sweet. I also omitted the butter and used 1/2 cup applesauce instead. My kids loved it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Unanimous 5 stars - hubby and my 6 and 8 yr olds. I reduced the sugar and used applesauce in lieu of the melted butter. Super easy and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Thanks to the original person who posted this! And the supplementary vid! Delicious, easy! A local market here in Lancaster, PA (LEMON ST.) has made something similar - here are some other healthy substitutes I just used: Coconut Oil instead of butter; Evaporated Cane Sugar or Sucanat (dehydrated cane sugar) to replace brown sugar; 1 cup almond milk instead of regular milk (rice milk works well too). I even poured the mixture into muffin pans without adding anything else and they came out warm, crispy, and sweet. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This was incredible and easy to make! I was expecting a dry bar. I slightly underbaked and ended up w/ a warm crumbled delight. The only change was that I used fruit bits instead of cranberries because it's all I had on hand. Liked by both adults & kids. I put a little Vanilla almond milk over it to eat. 2 thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seneca Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
The first time I made this dish, I did the substitution of apple sauce for oil and changed nothing else. It was quite tasty, especially the second day, but on the first day I found the texture with all rolled oats to be a bit too chewy (that did improve by the next day). This time I made it with half quick oats and half rolled oats and it was just right. I also substituted half of the sugar with Splenda with no change in taste, making this a bit healthier than written. Great recipe and easy to make. Raisins or cranberries work great with it. And BTW, it didn't come out too soft either time and could be cut up into bars for a take-along breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I make this at least once a week for our family. What I love MOST about it is that the recipe is forgiving enough for lots of variation. Sometimes I sub applesauce for the oil. Sometimes I sub a couple bananas for 2/3 of the milk. Sometimes I sub pumpkin puree for most of the milk, and add some pumpkin pie spice. Once, I had ground up too many gingersnaps for the crust of a pumpkin cheesecake, and threw the excess gingersnap crumbs in. Delicious! You can even add peanut butter (and bananas?...or chocolate chips?) to the recipe. To add more healthy goodness, try adding some ground flax seed or wheat germ. It's yummy enough that the kids would never guess! Great recipe on its own, and fun to experiment with, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMWILSON98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Loved this recipe! Easy to throw together. After reading readers reviews, the first batch we made with apples and dried currants. The second batch (as it was fall), I used a cup of canned pumpkin and 2-3 tsp of pumpkin pie spice. So very good~ my kids don't normally eat oatmeal, however, they were eating this! Thanks so much for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Out of the 3 cups of rolled oats that the recipe calls for, we use one cup steel-cut oats (and 2 cups rolled oats). You will love the extra firmness and texture!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 487) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States