Baked Oatmeal II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
This recipe, as written, serves at least 8, not 4. No wonder the nutritional info was sky-high for calories, fat and carbs. Baked oatmeal is a favorite breakfast or mid-day snack for everyone in my family. My changes: 1/4 cup Splenda and 1/4 cup brown sugar (1 cup of sugar is way too much), 1/4 cup melted butter and 1/2 cup applesauce, 3/4 cup raisins, add 1/4 tsp cloves, 1/4 cup oat bran and 1/2 cup chopped pecans. I only bake it for 25-30 minutes at 350. Just right. Not dry. Baked oatmeal is great as a "breakfast-on-the-go" for anyone who doesn't have time to sit down and eat breakfast before going to school or work. A square of it can be eaten cold or nuked in the microwave to warm it up a bit and then, you're out the door. I like to cut a piece in half and have it with a cup of coffee or tea around 3 PM. So Good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
735 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
very yummy, i used half the brown sugar, soy milk instead of regular milk, 1/2 c applesauce instead of the butter and raisins instead of cranberries. delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
537 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
This is one of my all-time favorite recipes! I had something similar when I went to the PA Amish country and changed up this recipe a bit to be more like that one. I use 3 tsp cinnamon instead of 2 tsp. I also use fresh or frozen blueberries (whatever is on hand) and put 1/2 cup on the bottom of my pan and 1/3 - 1/2 cup mixed in with the batter. This helps it be more moist and tastes so good! We also like this served warm with some milk poured over it. Overall, a great recipe and is wonderful for when you have guests over. I have also made these into muffins by adding 3/4 - 1 cup of flour to the batter. Enjoy! We sure do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
366 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
I just moved to Pennsylvania (Lancaster County, Amish area) and this recipe is an old old favorite of my husbands family. The card reads by Marge Weaver, 1946. lol Cool huh? Only thing is, it calls for 2 tsp of Baking Soda, not powder. Sometimes instead of cranberries we do raisins and nuts, or during the summer, dried strawberries, dried pineapple or even dried papaya chunks. Layed out in a 13x9 pan, it is done a little crispier and used with milk as cereal, or in a couple small 3x8 pans, as a deep dish goodness. Really wonderful stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
209 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATJENKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
We enjoyed this. However, I had to cut the sugar way back to 1/3 c. When I saw that it called for a full cup of sugar I almost gagged -- it would be so overwhelmingly sweet (more of a dessert like another reviewer said) with that much. You'd be eating 1/4 c. sugar for breakfast! (It actually made more like 6 servings, but even at that, it would still be almost 3 tablespoons of sugar per serving) Anyway, with the lower sugar it was a nice alternative to everyday oatmeal. It baked up nicely and we've been snacking on the leftovers. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AggieFan92

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
This was the first time I made baked oatmeal. I had it for a group of ladies I had over for a Prayer Connection and everyone said they really enjoyed it. Then 2 days later I had my Sister-In-Law (a long time fan of baked oatmeal) and a friend over for some leftovers. My Sister-In-Law said it was the best baked oatmeal she ever had. It was nice and sweet with the brown sugar, and the cranberries just made it a little tart also. I will definitely make it again. It froze well and I just thawed it out and popped it in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Riverview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
All 6 of my children LOVED this recipe. It turned out like a soft granola bar. I tried some of the suggestions in the other reviews. We used 1/2 cup brown sugar instead of the cup. We used 1/2 cup applesauce instead of the butter. We substituted soy milk for the milk. We added golden raisins instead of cranberries. So, basically it is a very versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
Good stuff! This is NOT oatmeal squares, as you can gather from other reviews - so don't make it if you want squares to cut out and serve. It is a crumbly cereal for breakfast, like a heartier version of stove-top oatmeal. I ate some plain and some with milk. Used sultana raisins instead of cranberries only because no cranberries around house, but you could use any dry fruit or chocolate chips, anything that doesn't absorb water which you'd put in oatmeal. Easy and tasty. Just plan for the baking time. No extra sugar needed to serve, it's plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
I changed the recipe a bit and LOVE it. To cut calories I substituted a half cup of Splenda for half the brown sugar. To cut the cholesterol I used one whole egg and an egg white instead of two eggs. Also, I can't afford cranberries, so I substituted apples and raisins, which I had on hand. It's fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
I have tried different baked oatmeal recipes and my family and I really enjoyed this one. I used blueberries like another review suggested. Also I used vanilla soy milk anddid not add extract. Also yummy with vanilla creamer bolthouse farms chai on top. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hudsonville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 478) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States