Baked Oatmeal II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I've made this at least once a week for the past year! It's amazing! I substitute the butter for applesauce and only use 3/4 cup brown sugar. My family of 5 eats this up in one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Really yummy! Definitely enough for eight. I make this in a muffin pan for an easy breakfast for me and the kids. I baked, then put in the freezer. Pull it out when I get up and it thaws by the time we are ready to go. I cut the butter in half, so it is a bit healthier, and always add random extras, to mix it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Family loved this recipe. Was first introduced to baked oatmeal at a little menonite bakery in South Bend, IN. I substituted applesauce for the butter and only used 3/4 Cups brown sugar. I also added 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg and allspice. Spices worked great together. To eat it, I crumble it in a bowl, add milk and warm it in the microwave for 1 minute. Great morning breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I made a few changes even though the original is yummy. I cut the sugar in half and also substituted applesauce and a little olive oil for the butter. Like others, I used a mixture of raisens and cranberries. I found though the dried canberries do add a tart flavor to balance the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I didn't care for the texture, but DH likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by midwestchef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Albany, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I made this as written and love it- wouldn't change a thing! Thanks for this recipe, I know I will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fanciful Unicorn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
This is wonderful! I lower the brown sugar to 3/4 cup because my boys like to add a spoonful of syrup to the bowl when they eat it. This is great for making and then storing in the fridge so that you have breakfast ready to go for a few days. Just heat it up and add a little milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
This is a HIT at my house. I have tweaked it for our needs: *I used Old Fashioned oats--I found it is best if you let them soak in the milk for at least 30 min. before assembling the rest of the ingredients. *I have cut back on the sugar by 1/4 cup. It is still plenty, especially if you are adding fruit. *We have tried fresh sliced peaches or apples and we have tried dried cherries (omit cinnamin and change vanilla to 1/2 t. of almond extract. * I love that this microwaves well the folloring morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
I made two small adjustments to this recipe. I used coconut oil in place of the butter and I reduced the sugar by half, thinking that if I'm drizzling this with syrup, I don't want it too sweet. But after tasting it without syrup, I found it to be perfectly sweet for my preferences (I'm a sweet tooth) and flavorful enough not to need syrup at all. It was light, fluffy and crumbly, kind of like a very soft granola, but tasting just like a bowl of oatmeal should. All it needs is a handful of nuts tossed in for further nutritional value. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
We enjoyed this very much. It's easy to put together for a healthy, quick breakfast to have on hand throughout the week. I poured a bit of milk of warm milk over it to serve. This actually made 10 serving, possibly 12. I used half the sugar and used applesauce in lieu of butter with a nice result. Next time, I will use half the salt. Very good! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 81-90 (of 471) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States