Baked Oatmeal I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Made this as written...can you imagine that? If you like oatmeal, as my wife does it was a winner. Bottom line is it's basically a bowl of oatmeal, baked. The baking adds a warm earthy note that plain oatmeal doesn't have. A review of the ingredients will tell you there are not a lot of "flavor" ingredients (vanilla, cinnamon...maple syrup...etc), so no surprise that everyone is adding and adjusting to suit their taste. Which makes this a fun basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I made a 1/2 batch and now regret it. We only have one piece left and only me & my child has had any "today". I cut the sugar(s) by a 3rd and used mostly brown sugar with a hint of white sugar. I don't like raisins so I used frozen raspberries and used wild berry applesauce instead of oil. I also added a little cinnamon to the mixture. Will definitely be making this on a regular basis. LOVE IT. I think of it more as a dessert than a breakfast. Of course that could be because I topped my daughters with a little cool-whip. But she loved it without as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I liked it alot. I still prefer to make my oatmeal in the slow cooker overnight while I sleep just because it is so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by covergirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Gave it 5 stars just because. I will make this,, just the way it is printed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I first had this when I visited a college several years ago. The students who hardly eat anything of value would literally "eat it up." However, now that I'm on a cardiac diet, I very much appreciated Whirldpeas information. I was looking for a recipe that I could adapt to something as wonderful as baked oatmeal. Thank you Whirldpeas. And just know for those who found his review objectionable, there are those of us who appreciated it. I know I'm one of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I also used cinn applesauce and it was wonderful, I used stevia 3 packets, it was awesome and would make a great dessert with cool whip or ice cream omit the sugar and sprinkled brown sugar and cinnamon on top next time I will toast some walnuts to sprinkle on top as well Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Always a winner when I make a batch and take it to the family in Augusta, GA. I make for me and the hubby and portion it for the freezer. Add milk and nuke it and it's super satisfying. Try adding pecans and cran-raisins....love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWAITE11

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
My children really liked this, getting seconds, even the picky eaters. I used coconut oil in place of vegetable. cooking oats, rather than quick. We are out of raisins and so I used a 1/2 cup of brown sugar. We are out of milk, and so I used water instead. I also did not let it sit over night. I just put it in the oven as soon as I mixed it up. It made a cross between breakfast and dessert :) but still healthier than a box of cereal, I'm sure. We served it with a pat of butter on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Try it with vanilla yogurt! YUM.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
I love this recipe! The only change I made was to use 1/4 cup Sunsweet Lighter Bake oil/butter substitute in place of the 1/2 cup oil. I like the fact that it can be mixed the night before and baked the next morning. This is like a heavy, moist coffee cake, and I ate the entire pan myself in two days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 312) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States