Baked Oatmeal I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Sounded like a cool recipe but we were disappointed. Good flavor but dry and crumbly. Not worth the effort. Sorry, not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Not really crazy about this one - kind of dry. I guess I'm used to the old fashioned oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freelton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Made this as written...can you imagine that? If you like oatmeal, as my wife does it was a winner. Bottom line is it's basically a bowl of oatmeal, baked. The baking adds a warm earthy note that plain oatmeal doesn't have. A review of the ingredients will tell you there are not a lot of "flavor" ingredients (vanilla, cinnamon...maple syrup...etc), so no surprise that everyone is adding and adjusting to suit their taste. Which makes this a fun basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I made a 1/2 batch and now regret it. We only have one piece left and only me & my child has had any "today". I cut the sugar(s) by a 3rd and used mostly brown sugar with a hint of white sugar. I don't like raisins so I used frozen raspberries and used wild berry applesauce instead of oil. I also added a little cinnamon to the mixture. Will definitely be making this on a regular basis. LOVE IT. I think of it more as a dessert than a breakfast. Of course that could be because I topped my daughters with a little cool-whip. But she loved it without as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I liked it alot. I still prefer to make my oatmeal in the slow cooker overnight while I sleep just because it is so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by covergirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Gave it 5 stars just because. I will make this,, just the way it is printed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I first had this when I visited a college several years ago. The students who hardly eat anything of value would literally "eat it up." However, now that I'm on a cardiac diet, I very much appreciated Whirldpeas information. I was looking for a recipe that I could adapt to something as wonderful as baked oatmeal. Thank you Whirldpeas. And just know for those who found his review objectionable, there are those of us who appreciated it. I know I'm one of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I also used cinn applesauce and it was wonderful, I used stevia 3 packets, it was awesome and would make a great dessert with cool whip or ice cream omit the sugar and sprinkled brown sugar and cinnamon on top next time I will toast some walnuts to sprinkle on top as well Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Always a winner when I make a batch and take it to the family in Augusta, GA. I make for me and the hubby and portion it for the freezer. Add milk and nuke it and it's super satisfying. Try adding pecans and cran-raisins....love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWAITE11

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
My children really liked this, getting seconds, even the picky eaters. I used coconut oil in place of vegetable. cooking oats, rather than quick. We are out of raisins and so I used a 1/2 cup of brown sugar. We are out of milk, and so I used water instead. I also did not let it sit over night. I just put it in the oven as soon as I mixed it up. It made a cross between breakfast and dessert :) but still healthier than a box of cereal, I'm sure. We served it with a pat of butter on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States