Baked Oatmeal I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Love this! Sometimes I replace raisins and put in chopped apple, then instead of cinnamon I use apple pie sice. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Downes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
My kids and I loved this one! I followed some of the other people's advice and used applesauce instead of the oil. I also used 1/4c. sugar and 1/4c. brown sugar and used 1/2c. peach juice (just because I had it on hand) and 1/2c. milk. I didn't add any other fruit because I wanted everyone to be able to pick their own fruit on top. We had our with fruit and yogurt on top. I will make this one when the family comes into town next month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I thought this was a delicious twist to traditional oatmeal. I really enjoyed it, and definitely will be making it again. The only reason I gave it four stars instead of five is because I wish it was a little more dense, it's more of a cake like baked oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
This was really tasty and very easy to make. I made it as the recipe stated and will use it as a base recipe in the future. Highly recommend serving with berries and a little milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This is amazing! I wish I could have it everyday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callie3303

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hastings, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Muskego, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Really easy to make and very good! I used applesauce in place of the oil and lowered the white sugar to 1/2 cup. Otherwise, I followed the recipe. My 8yo daughter loved it and she is the oatmeal eater in our house. My son ate half of the square I gave him and said it's "not good" but he does not like oatmeal so for him to eat ANY of it says something positive for this recipe! Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
The first time I make a recipe, I normally follow the instructions exactly. I didn't have any oil so I substituted applesauce. I also decreased the sugar to 1/4 cup -- 3/4 cup would be way too sweet for us. With the subs I made it only rates 3 stars but am giving 4 stars because I believe it would have been better with oil or even butter. Update 9/3/11: Made with oil and reduced sugar by 1/2. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I made this for 60 people at a weekend event. I utilised the reviews suggesting applesauce instead of oil and added grated apples and substituted chopped dates, since I don't like raisins. We put out bowls of sliced almonds and coconut to top it off, and many put yogurt over it. Everyone loved it! Thanks for all the input!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I used half melted butter, half organic applesauce instead of the full amount of vegetable oil. I cut the sugar back to a scant 1/3 cup and I only used a pinch of salt. I did soak my raisins in hot unsweetened chai tea (I made sure to drain the raisins and pat them dry well before adding them) before adding them to the oatmeal mixture. We all thought this was tasty and quite warm and comforting for a chilly day like today. Next time, I'll use fat free evaporated milk for a creamier texture as well as add a little vanilla extract. I didn't even miss the extra fat in this recipe after substituting half with applesauce and to be honest, I could probably cut it again without missing it. I would have today but I'm completely out. This is almost like rice pudding, only made with oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Ugron

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Green Cove Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 313) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States