Baked Oatmeal I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I made this exactly as directed. It was great! Thank you for the recipe; I will definitely use it again! It is delicious, make-ahead friendly, economical, and easily embellished if needed. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evelyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
"Mom, this is REALLY GOOD oatmeal!" Haha, first time my kids have ever said that! They even had seconds! I substituted 1 cup of applesauce (sweetened) for the oil. Since the applesauce was already sweet, I reduced the sugar to 1/4 Cup. I substituted Craisins for the raisins and almond milk for the milk. Everything else was the same. Since so many of the reviews said it came out dry, I only baked it for 20 minutes. The edges were cake like, but the inside was still soft. I had to scoop it out instead of slice and serve. Next time I will cook it a little longer. Oh, and with the leftovers, I added a large scoop of crunchy peanut butter, mixed it in thoroughly, lined a pan with parchment, smashed the mixture in nice and tight and baked it on 250 until it was dry and toasty, sliced it when it was warm. Ta Da! Energy bars for growing kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Me Crazy
Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Fantastic base recipe. Made this for Mother's Day brunch and it was a hit. I made a few changes: I followed the other rater's suggestions and substituted the applesauce for the oil and reduced the sugar to 1/3 cup. I also subbed soy milk for cow's milk, since I had a guest who is lactose intolerant. I also subbed out raisins for dried cranberries and added in some sliced almonds. Several guests requested the recipe. It was a great make-ahead recipe that came in very handy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Revere, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
loved it! Added just 2 tablespoons of coconut oil for moisture, and a half can of pumpkin. Cut sugar to 1/2cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Great recipe, especially with applesauce & flax substitutes for most of the oil. We add 1 tsp cinnamon, skip the topping, bake right away, and then add fixin's when it is baked. Fits nicely into an 8x8 or a deep dish pie plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I just made this on the spur of the moment, so it didn't get to sit in the refrigerator overnight, but it was still great. I did use only 1/2 cup sugar, as I usually cut back on how much is in a recipe, and I'm glad I did. It was a little crumbly, but that was just fine for us. This is going to be a regular week end breakfast dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This is delicious. I normally detest oatmeal, but this is amazing! My four kids (from 16months old to ten years) all enjoyed it, as well as my husband. simple, sweet, and very filling. I like that it can be mixed the night before and baked in the morning so my family can have a hot breakfast before school. I followed the recipe exactly with no modifications and it is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Great, subbed in applesauce for oil. Looking forward to trying out different add ins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
So delicious and easy! I added one gala apple cubed. Yuuuum! Used brown instead of white sugar. Next time will try it with apple sauce, didn't have any today. Awesome recipe super flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Caracas, Distrito Federal, Venezuela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States