Baked Oatmeal I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Awesome breakfast alternative! I made it using the applesauce substitute for the oil that was recommended in many of the reviews. Used ½ cup brown sugar and ¼ cup white sugar – the sweetness is perfect with this combination. I had buttermilk in the refrigerator, so used that instead of milk, which worked out well. Per family request ½ cup crasins, ½ cup walnuts and 1 Tablespoon apple pie spice (recipe found here for the apple pie spice) were mixed in, and baked in a 9 x 9 baking pan. This is a definite keeper recipe that is loaded with other possible fruit, nut and spice combination possibilities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Sounded like a cool recipe but we were disappointed. Good flavor but dry and crumbly. Not worth the effort. Sorry, not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Not really crazy about this one - kind of dry. I guess I'm used to the old fashioned oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freelton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Made this as written...can you imagine that? If you like oatmeal, as my wife does it was a winner. Bottom line is it's basically a bowl of oatmeal, baked. The baking adds a warm earthy note that plain oatmeal doesn't have. A review of the ingredients will tell you there are not a lot of "flavor" ingredients (vanilla, cinnamon...maple syrup...etc), so no surprise that everyone is adding and adjusting to suit their taste. Which makes this a fun basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I made a 1/2 batch and now regret it. We only have one piece left and only me & my child has had any "today". I cut the sugar(s) by a 3rd and used mostly brown sugar with a hint of white sugar. I don't like raisins so I used frozen raspberries and used wild berry applesauce instead of oil. I also added a little cinnamon to the mixture. Will definitely be making this on a regular basis. LOVE IT. I think of it more as a dessert than a breakfast. Of course that could be because I topped my daughters with a little cool-whip. But she loved it without as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I liked it alot. I still prefer to make my oatmeal in the slow cooker overnight while I sleep just because it is so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by covergirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Gave it 5 stars just because. I will make this,, just the way it is printed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I first had this when I visited a college several years ago. The students who hardly eat anything of value would literally "eat it up." However, now that I'm on a cardiac diet, I very much appreciated Whirldpeas information. I was looking for a recipe that I could adapt to something as wonderful as baked oatmeal. Thank you Whirldpeas. And just know for those who found his review objectionable, there are those of us who appreciated it. I know I'm one of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I also used cinn applesauce and it was wonderful, I used stevia 3 packets, it was awesome and would make a great dessert with cool whip or ice cream omit the sugar and sprinkled brown sugar and cinnamon on top next time I will toast some walnuts to sprinkle on top as well Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Always a winner when I make a batch and take it to the family in Augusta, GA. I make for me and the hubby and portion it for the freezer. Add milk and nuke it and it's super satisfying. Try adding pecans and cran-raisins....love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWAITE11

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States