Baked Oatmeal I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I thought this was good, but only after I added melted butter and milk to moisten each serving. If you think you don't like oatmeal unless it's baked, try making oatmeal in the microwave with milk (whole - or add some cream to your skim) instead of water, and then stir in a dash of salt and some brown sugar. Top with fresh berries (whatever you have on hand), cinnamon, and a little cardamom. This is much healthier, much faster, and in my opinion tastier. I would still do the baked version for a crowd, because you can make many servings in one pan, but for every day try it in the microwave as described - healthier and better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa.murakami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
liked this! substituted the oil for applesauce, cut sugar down to about 2/3c. and used old fashioned oats. was VERY good. also used some raisins and some cranberries, and added cinnamon to oatmeal mixture. was good! : ) will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Made this for the first time this morning. OMG it was so good! I did as what most reviewers did - substituted the oil with applesauce and I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup and added a teaspoon of vanilla. I am definitely going to make this again! I am so tempted to make another one for work tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
made the batter last night. I baked it this morning and served it for breakfast. everyone loved it. I've already been asked by two friends to share the recipe after I talked about it. It will be in my recipe book of favorites! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I love oatmeal and wanted to try the baked version. I only changed a few things. I mixed the cinnamon and brown sugar in the oatmeal instead of sprinkling on top, I also only let it sit for about 2 hours before baking. I added peaches to mine. I read quite a few reviews that it was dry etc but mine was not! It was very moist! About 20 minutes into baking I took a fork and mixed it up as well. Next time I will cut the white sugar in 1/2 because it was sweet! I added milk to the finished product which cuts out all the sweetness as well. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This was a fantastic recipe. This could pass for a dessert, too. I added chopped walnuts and subbed in craisins because I didn't have raisins handy. Was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I made this with slight revisions. I was looking for a healthy "grab and go" breakfast recipe. I love oatmeal. I reduced the white sugar to 1/2 cup because I am trying to reduce sugar in my diet. I added a shredded granny smith apple, a cup of chopped walnuts, and the zest of a naval orange. I also added a teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice instead of the cinnamon. This baked nicely. I liked the flavor a lot. Mine turned out a little crumbly but it tastes good. I'm going to try it for breakfast this week. I'm sure it has fewer calories than a donut, and has much more fiber. It was very easy and quick to make. (I did not refrigerate this overnight). So, I will probably try making it again and continue to tweak the recipe to my taste. I think it tastes fine at room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This is a fantastic recipe! The only reason I'm giving it 4 stars is because I had to cut both the sugar and oil in half (as other reviewers did), with applesauce in place of the oil. I also used a small chopped granny smith apple and added just a T. or so of raisins. (My children don't like raisins) The result was a wonderful apple/cinnamon oatmeal "pie". It was a healthy, easy, and a big hit. Let the mix sit for 5-10 minutes - no need to refrigerate. Thank you, Tracy! This is my new Sunday morning breakfast along with turkey bacon and/or veggie sausages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Benito, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I made this for breakfast this morning, and it is definately a keeper! The only changes I made were to use apple sauce instead of oil, and because we don't have a sweet tooth, I didn't add any sugar (topped it with hot apple sauce in our bowls). It turned out perfect, almost like rice pudding. We loved it, and will be making it for guests in the future! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I really liked this. It has a corn bread consistency so it's really good dipped in milk or with a pat of butter. I used half brown & half white sugar in the batter. I also added some vanilla & finely chopped almonds. I sprinkled the top with apple pie spice instead of cinnamon. Next time I will add some of the spice to the batter as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States