Baked Oatmeal I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Just okay for us. I prefer the texture of oatmeal cooked in the microwave or on stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Way too much baking powder. I thought it was too much but decided to follow the recipe. Big mistake. Has an overall baking powder taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
This was good, but not sweet enough to me. Next time, I'm going to add even more cinnamon (I used a whole tablespoon) and use a cup of Splenda instead of the sugar. I made mine in a 5 x 9 pan. I should have cut the amount or used a bigger pan. It really expanded as it cooked and I thought it was a little too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Soooooo good! My husband who claimed not to like oatmeal even loved it. I did make some changes based on other reviews. I read one review that said that reviewing a recipe you've changed is rude but I think thats what makes all recipes so great! And you can change it to suit your needs. Changes I made: 1. I halfed the recipe. 2. I used a bottle of baby applesauce instead of oil (great way to use up those jars that my 13 month old son won't eat! He also loved this recipe btw) 3. I used almond milk instead of regular (I'm watching calories) 5. I used 1/3 cup sugar...two Tbsp of white and 3 of brown and then sprinkled about 2 tsp on top. 6. I added 1 tsp of vanilla. 7. I added 1/2 tsp cinnamon in the mix as well as sprinkling it on top. I cooked it in a square 8X8 inch pan. I cut that into four servings. Each of the four servings has 205 calories and 2g of fat. Super healthy. When I pulled it out of the oven i poured just a little milk to cool it off, the milk absorbed and it was so delish. Was like eating cake for breakfast. I eat a lot of oatmeal so it's nice to have another version that still is low in calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Really good. My family loves oatmeal, generally old fashioned, not the quick cooking. Using that kind of oatmeal gave it a hearty, but still moist and yummy texture. I used cinnamon applesauce in place of the oil. I used craisins since it was the spur of the moment and that's all we had on hand. I would make it again, but I would used less sugar and add vanilla and more dried fruit. This is breakfast on the go or sure. I baked it in an 8x8 pan and got nine squares/servings. I sent the recipe to mom and sis too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Not bad. We don't eat a lot of oatmeal in the house. This was definitely a good twist. We didn't have raisins on hand but we did have a bag of frozen strawberries that turned out to be delicious in the oatmeal. Will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buzzardlovesong

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Goodyear, Arizona, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
This was wonderful! I have had baked oatmeal out and tried to recreate it unsuccessfully; this was exactly it. Texture is cross between muffin and fluffy oatmeal cookie. I made it with butter instead of oil and baked in muffin pan. Replaced raisins with dried cherries and splash of almond extract, and served hot in a bowl with half-half. YUM. Will be a regular at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I made this for a wedding brunch and it was the most popular item served!! Served it with small bowls of flax seed, nuts, brown sugar and cream for options and additions. Rave reviews from everyone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Amazing recipe. I halved it and put it in an 8" square pan. Used almond oil and halved the sugar. Sprinkled the top with cinnamon sugar and bits of butter. Tip: Grate frozen butter stick over pan. I only baked it for 20 minutes because I have a convection oven. Something like a soft oatmeal cookie with a little crunch. It took all my willpower not to eat more! Just as good the next day. Try it you will like it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I thought this was good, but only after I added melted butter and milk to moisten each serving. If you think you don't like oatmeal unless it's baked, try making oatmeal in the microwave with milk (whole - or add some cream to your skim) instead of water, and then stir in a dash of salt and some brown sugar. Top with fresh berries (whatever you have on hand), cinnamon, and a little cardamom. This is much healthier, much faster, and in my opinion tastier. I would still do the baked version for a crowd, because you can make many servings in one pan, but for every day try it in the microwave as described - healthier and better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa.murakami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States