Baked Oatmeal I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Cut the sugar back to 1/3-1/2 cup. We like to use dried strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tatertot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Tianjin, Tianjin (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Great basic recipe! We used old fashioned rolled oats instead of instant, skipped the soaking step, and still had great results. A bit sweet for our tastes - will reduce sugar in the future, we also prefer canned peaches and a tsp vanilla instead of raisins for flavor. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
WOW! This is AMAZING! I did use unsweetened apple sauce in place of the oil for health reasons but wow! My 10 year old twins LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
really good I upped the regular sugar amount, to make it sweeter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Rush Valley, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
This was a great weekend breakfast. Thoroughly enjoyed it. I counted this as a "cheat" breakfast since it was Saturday. Next I'm going to try to reduce the sugar amount or use alternative sweeteners to make it a little lighter. But you should always follow the recipe the first time and I was not disappointed by this one. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick Getz

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I added 2 fresh apples diced to this and 1/4 tsp on ground cloves. I added 1 Tbsp of vanilla but probable will omit that next time as I think it takes away from the cinnamon taste. If you double the recipe I believe they come out too moist more like cake... I wanted bars so I will not double again :) Either way they were good and I will try again. Next time I am doing 1 cup blueberry oatmeal bars with 1/2 cup cranberries or cherries :) Adding 1 Tbsp Vanilla & Omitting the cinnamon. Or I might try the oatmeal blueberry muffins on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARCIA99116

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fortville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
First time ever having, or even hearing of, baked oatmeal. First note : this will not fit in a pie pan, I used a baking dish approx 9x9x2 in. It was really good. I didn't know how you were 'supposed to' eat it, so i had it hot, hot with milk, cold, and cold with milk. I preferred the cold with milk. Could make this a hundred ways, next time i will double the cinnamon sugar topping, double the raisins, and add walnuts. For anyone who has never tried this dish, the texture is kind of like a moist cake but a little on the gummy side when you chew it. I would have never even known it was oats in there if I hadn't made it myself. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Delicious! Used Pumpkin Pie Spice instead of cinnamon and it was devoured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
My family loves this recipe, and every time I make it I change it up. The best was when I doubled the recipe and added 1/2 C. pumpkin purée, chopped walnuts and 2 scoops of natural vegan protein powder to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Alexandria Bay, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I made this with applesauce in place of the oil and brown instead of white sugar, and no raisins. I also just add the cinnamon in the mix rather than try to sprinkle it evenly. I havent tried to refridgerate it overnight, I just dont plan ahead that much. I also added fruit - the first time I did blueberries and half plain, the second time I added 1 1/2 bananas and 6 strawberries. I definitely like the bananas and strawberries better than plain, and the blueberries were good too. I cover it with milk when I eat it, my toddler eats it straight from the pan (its dense enough to cut up for her to pick up and eat). Definitely a good recipe - will keep making it. Works great to reheat the second morning for quick breakfast. This would be good to feed a crowd if you made a few of them. Its so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 316) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States