Baked Oatmeal I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
YUMMY! No one in the family is a huge Oatmeal fan, but we all loved this. I went with the suggestion of using applesauce instead of oil and the consistency was perfect. Next time I will try less sugar as it was a little sweet. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This was tasty but I wish that it had said "overnight" in the preparation/cook time. I started making this to eat this morning and then realized in the directions that it is supposed to sit overnight. I decided to just skip that step and it turned out good anyways. I also subbed applesauce for oil and used splenda for the white sugar. I also added some sliced almonds on top with the cinnamon and brown sugar. Overall, a good dish unlike anything I'd ever had. It reminded us somewhat of a breakfast bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
No everyone in our family likes oatmeal, but they will eat it when I cook this! We had a similar recipe served to us while on vacation, and the kids have been asking me to make it ever since. I found this recipe and it satisfied their picky taste buds! My teenage son is already asking me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
really good, a dollop of french vanilla yorgurt and some fresh berries and its perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
A little dry and crumbly ... delicious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Well, I followed the recipe exactly (substituting apple sauce for oil) but my came out extremely dry and crumbly. I added milk to it as if it was dry cereal. The flavor was good, though I would probably cut back on the sugar. If I try again, maybe I'll double the milk and applesauce or bake right away or something to moisten it up. It's filling, I will give it that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Unbelievably Delicious. It's what I was looking for in a Baked Oatmeal recipe. I did substitute the oil with applesauce and also added a little vanilla. I also backed off a little on the sugar as I didn't want it to be over sweet. Be sure and let it bake long enough so that a small amount of crust forms around the edges of the baking dish. This adds a little extra flavor and the right amount of crunch to the dish. Makes great leftovers for a quick treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Great! I used applesauce instead of oil, and also added a splash of vanilla...why bake anything without vanilla, right? I also used dried blueberries instead of raisins. It was fantastic, and my 2 year old who is very picky gobbled it up. It was a little too sweet, possibly because of the applesauce and I did not reduce the sugar. Next time, I will use the applesauce and just half a cup of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shiprock, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This is awesome! have made twice in the last month. I cut recipe in 1/2 and still had some left for the next day, as it's only hubby and me. Served with warm milk and fresh raspberries...yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This is a good recipe for baked oatmeal. I used an 8x8 Pyrex dish (didn't do overnight, just all at once) and it cooked up fine but the pieces were quite a bit thicker than I had anticipated. I'd make this again, but probably halve the recipe for just us. Still, this did yield leftovers for tomorrow's breakfast, which is always nice! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 308) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States