Baked Oatmeal I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Very simple to throw together!! Gathering from the reviews my siblings gave me it was very yummy as well. This was the first time they had ever tried baked oatmeal and they definitely enjoyed it. I doubled the recipe and made it in a 9x13 pan. I also omitted the raisins, subbed applesauce for the oil, and used half of the brown sugar called for. The only complaint I received was that it was a little too sweet. Next time I will reduce both the white and brown sugar. Thanks for sharing:) *update* As good as this recipe is, Baked Oatmeal II from this site is even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grainfreegirl96
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This can be altered to suit your tastes and health need. I used coconut oil in stead of vegetable oil, 1/2 cup of brown sugar (next time will take it down to 1/3 cup) added some vanilla extract, and used coconut milk instead of regular milk. Next time I will try apples instead of raisins. Could also do pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spices. This will be a regular breakfast in our house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Hart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Love this! Sometimes I replace raisins and put in chopped apple, then instead of cinnamon I use apple pie sice. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Downes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
My kids and I loved this one! I followed some of the other people's advice and used applesauce instead of the oil. I also used 1/4c. sugar and 1/4c. brown sugar and used 1/2c. peach juice (just because I had it on hand) and 1/2c. milk. I didn't add any other fruit because I wanted everyone to be able to pick their own fruit on top. We had our with fruit and yogurt on top. I will make this one when the family comes into town next month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I thought this was a delicious twist to traditional oatmeal. I really enjoyed it, and definitely will be making it again. The only reason I gave it four stars instead of five is because I wish it was a little more dense, it's more of a cake like baked oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
This was really tasty and very easy to make. I made it as the recipe stated and will use it as a base recipe in the future. Highly recommend serving with berries and a little milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This is amazing! I wish I could have it everyday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callie3303

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hastings, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Muskego, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Really easy to make and very good! I used applesauce in place of the oil and lowered the white sugar to 1/2 cup. Otherwise, I followed the recipe. My 8yo daughter loved it and she is the oatmeal eater in our house. My son ate half of the square I gave him and said it's "not good" but he does not like oatmeal so for him to eat ANY of it says something positive for this recipe! Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
The first time I make a recipe, I normally follow the instructions exactly. I didn't have any oil so I substituted applesauce. I also decreased the sugar to 1/4 cup -- 3/4 cup would be way too sweet for us. With the subs I made it only rates 3 stars but am giving 4 stars because I believe it would have been better with oil or even butter. Update 9/3/11: Made with oil and reduced sugar by 1/2. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I made this for 60 people at a weekend event. I utilised the reviews suggesting applesauce instead of oil and added grated apples and substituted chopped dates, since I don't like raisins. We put out bowls of sliced almonds and coconut to top it off, and many put yogurt over it. Everyone loved it! Thanks for all the input!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States