Baked Mushroom Thighs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by DVDIVA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This recipe was good, but not spectacular. It tasted a lot like Shake N' Bake with cream of mushroom soup as a gravy. I followed the advice of others to make it more flavorful since when I made it as is and tasted the bread crumb mixture before dipping the chicken into it, it did taste a bit bland. So, I added garlic powder and italian seasoning. Then, like the others, I dipped the chicken thighs into part of the can of soup (saving the other part for the gravy) with skim milk (instead of the canned milk). It was easy to make, but maybe I had too high of expectations from the other reviews of how it was going to taste. It was just OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DVDIVA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
When I was making this dish I used low fat cream of mushroom soup. I didn't have any bread crumbs so I used southern chicken breader (like flour? maybe it is the same thing, i'm brand new to cooking!) and I also added french fried onions to the flour/bread bowl. I dredged my chicken thighs (bone with skin) in the mushroom soup and flour. Cooked for suggested 45 minutes. My first bite I thought: "Yum!" but after finishing the first thigh I felt a little pushed to the edge. To me it was rather rich and it was a bright yellow color. I think that was from the flour I used (and I wouldn't use it again for the recipe). I think next time I'd buy boneless/skinless thighs for this dish too. Also, I'd leave it in an extra 5 minutes because it wasn't crispy enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChelseaGeese8

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dacula, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
very easy to make and came out delicious! I removed the skin from the thighs and used panko crumbs. I also omitted the milk and diluted the cream of mushroom soup with a little chicken stock.Suggested by another reviewer, I reserved about 1/2 the can of soup for the sauce to avoid contamination. I also added a small can of mushroom slices to the sauce. It was perfect with steamed rice and peas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
This was easy and super tasty! The only thing I did to change it was before I heated the sauce mixture in the sauce pan I sauteed some chopped onion and fresh mushrooms...added a dash of white wine, let it cook down for about a minute and then added the sauce to heat through as directed. Additionally, I topped it with fresh parley...De-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
This was delicious! Just the comfort food my fiance and I were looking for. We had it with Mashed potatoes and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Essheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
This recipe came out really great and I only had to tweek it a little. I added salt and pepper to both the bread crumbs and the sauce. I also added garlic powder to the sauce before I coated the chicken with it. Then, I sauteed some onions and mushrooms in the saucepan, added a little salt and pepper then added the remaining sauce and reduced. The chicken got nice a crunchy and was great served over rice with a bit of the sauce on it. Definitely a redo and the family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This is a keeper!!! I used boneless/skinless chicken thighs and they came out sooo tender and nicely crisp on the outside. I did not have onion powder so i used garlic powder instead, next time I will use both. I served this over rice as pictured, with a side of roasted asparagus and mushrooms (a recipe also found on allrecipes.com). It was a very elegant and easy meal that tasted like i had spent hours in the kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahm802

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
My entire family loved this recipe! The second time I made it, I had to double it. It is really amazing warmed up too. The only change that I made was to use twice as many mushrooms because my family loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I was surprised at how good this was. Followed the recipe as is, and it makes a simple and easy weeknight meal. It is really good reheated too. The sauce is what makes it...easy comfort food. I like to have it with seasoned rice and a veggie on the side. Simple but amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I liked this, but would modify it dramatically the next time. Here's my thoughts. A 9x13 pan really crowded 8 dipped and breaded thighs. Needed 10 more minutes cooking time Why can't the mushroom mix be simmered for 20 minutes and served as a sauce? I has not been used as a marinade, and is therefore safe. Use skinless thighs. I did NOT like biting through the crunchy breadcrumbs into a soft, fatty skin. Each thigh has a mushroom coating which will keep it moist. I used finally chopped sweet onion in the sauce. My pantry does not contain onion powder. (foodsnob! foodsnob!) I used Panko breadcrumbs. Nice crunchy texture but I would cook the chicken at 350 till nearly done then finish them off at 375-400 for 10 minutes to crisp up the coating. Looking forward to the leftovers on this one...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by murthog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wellington , Wellington, New Zealand
Living In: Gloucester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Chef John's rich, creamy risotto lets the oven do some of the work. Genius!

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States