Baked Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Forgot I had a potluck to go to and whipped this up in no time. There wasn't a bite left afterward! Made it exactly according to recipe. No need to add extras, although a little cheddar sprinkled on top doesn't hurt. A great recipe to have on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I added a couple mashed cloves of homemade roasted garlic. Right before baking, I sprinkled a half cup of extra sharp white cheddar over the potatoes. My family inhaled these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I will be doing this one again, for sure. I used russet potatoes, subbed sour cream for the cream cheese, and used onion powder instead of a fresh onion, because those things are what I had on hand. I also added parsley and some pressed garlic. I was a bit worried that my main course was going to be finished and ready to eat before the egg had time to cook, so I left that out, and just baked the potatoes without it. I didn't need to worry though. Next time, I will cook and mash the potatoes ahead of time, and add the egg, so I can take the worry out and just pop it in the oven. These were delicious. Very flavorful, and although I did serve these with gravy, they could have been eaten without it. The leftovers will make a delicious shepherd's pie tomorrow night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Had been promising our 18 year old son I would make him 'real' mashed potatoes for some time. When I saw this recipe, I just knew it would be a hit, and it was! The flavors are perfect, and I'm thinking about making it again for Bible study in just a few days. I know they will love it as much as we did. Love that you can make it the day before, and bake it the following day. So it is convenient, tastes good, and not too difficult to make! Who doesn't love a recipe like that?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeisLord

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
These were quite good. However, they seemed a bit dry for me. The weird thing is, my husband loved them and he usually loads his mashed potatoes with mayo to make them more moist and creamy (which i absolutely hate thus the reason for me doing this recipe) needless today, he used no mayo! So 5 stars from him i guess, but only 4 for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernBird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
simple yet exquisite great recipe thanks for the share
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by walter murray

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Will be making again and again!!! The family loved them - I could prepare them ahead of time and just throw in the oven towards the end. Used cream cheese with chives - yummmmmy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
First, know that I am a carb LOVER so chances were good I'd like them, but WOW. I actually just now saw the submitter Nancy F's review, and realized that 1) there was a reason they tasted SO deliciously oniony even though the description doesn't mention it (she wrote it with a Tbsp, not a whole onion's worth!), and 2) in the extreme multi-tasking of Christmas dinner preparation I somehow left out the egg! Dang. I will definitely use this recipe again, and will happily add way more than 1Tbsp onion, but will actually get that egg in there to see how it affects the final result. I left my potato skins on, and didn't mash thoroughly since our family likes chunky taters. BTW, after an hour in the oven, the onions are a mellow and delicious undertone, not at all raw or sharp. These were delicious in the bottom of a bowl of beef stew, and I'm sure we'll find lots of other ways to enjoy these this winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Oh, we loved these!!! There is nothing extra spectacular about the seasonings (just looking @ the recipe will tell you that); but the hero part of this dish is 1st) the make-ahead -- so easy to just pull them out the next day pop in the oven; and 2nd) the consistency and depth that the cream cheese adds, both for presentation and re-heating. I could not stop dipping in for another bite -- even cold in the fridge! So if you want more flavor, just add more seasoning! This is an excellent base, and will become my holiday tradition mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie Cumming

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Just a crazy thought, anyone peel a potato, good if one is sweet and one yukon gold, wrap in plastic wrap, pierce potatoes. Microwave untill soft. Remove and mash anyway you like with any flavors.. butter etc. 10 minut mashe potatos
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States