Baked Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Had been promising our 18 year old son I would make him 'real' mashed potatoes for some time. When I saw this recipe, I just knew it would be a hit, and it was! The flavors are perfect, and I'm thinking about making it again for Bible study in just a few days. I know they will love it as much as we did. Love that you can make it the day before, and bake it the following day. So it is convenient, tastes good, and not too difficult to make! Who doesn't love a recipe like that?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeisLord

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
These were quite good. However, they seemed a bit dry for me. The weird thing is, my husband loved them and he usually loads his mashed potatoes with mayo to make them more moist and creamy (which i absolutely hate thus the reason for me doing this recipe) needless today, he used no mayo! So 5 stars from him i guess, but only 4 for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernBird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
simple yet exquisite great recipe thanks for the share
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Walter Murray

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Will be making again and again!!! The family loved them - I could prepare them ahead of time and just throw in the oven towards the end. Used cream cheese with chives - yummmmmy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
First, know that I am a carb LOVER so chances were good I'd like them, but WOW. I actually just now saw the submitter Nancy F's review, and realized that 1) there was a reason they tasted SO deliciously oniony even though the description doesn't mention it (she wrote it with a Tbsp, not a whole onion's worth!), and 2) in the extreme multi-tasking of Christmas dinner preparation I somehow left out the egg! Dang. I will definitely use this recipe again, and will happily add way more than 1Tbsp onion, but will actually get that egg in there to see how it affects the final result. I left my potato skins on, and didn't mash thoroughly since our family likes chunky taters. BTW, after an hour in the oven, the onions are a mellow and delicious undertone, not at all raw or sharp. These were delicious in the bottom of a bowl of beef stew, and I'm sure we'll find lots of other ways to enjoy these this winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Oh, we loved these!!! There is nothing extra spectacular about the seasonings (just looking @ the recipe will tell you that); but the hero part of this dish is 1st) the make-ahead -- so easy to just pull them out the next day pop in the oven; and 2nd) the consistency and depth that the cream cheese adds, both for presentation and re-heating. I could not stop dipping in for another bite -- even cold in the fridge! So if you want more flavor, just add more seasoning! This is an excellent base, and will become my holiday tradition mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie Cumming

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Just a crazy thought, anyone peel a potato, good if one is sweet and one yukon gold, wrap in plastic wrap, pierce potatoes. Microwave untill soft. Remove and mash anyway you like with any flavors.. butter etc. 10 minut mashe potatos
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Followed the directions exactly and thought it was rather bland and probably will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
My granddaughter and I made these potatoes for Christmas today (2011) and they were fantastic! The only thing we did different was instead of Yukon Gold potatoes we used red and used onion powder instead of grated onion. This recipe is a keeper! Grandma CB
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bow Island, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I make these by also adding 1 1/2 cups of sour cream. I have made them up to 5 days ahead and I have also frozen them......no problems. I also use onion salt instead of grated onion. Sprinkle some dabs of butter and paprika on before baking. These are fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States