Baked Maryland Lump Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
These Crab Cakes were very good and very easy to make! I did have to make a few changes only out of necessity. I didn’t have any baking powder so I omitted it. I also did not have mustard powder so I just used regular mustard. Even with the changes it was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
240 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
replaced mayo with ranch, used cajun seasoning instead of seafood, and added some chopped celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demimi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
These were fantastic! I was looking for just this type of recipe to bake instead of fry. The only thing I did differently was to chill the cakes for a couple of hours before baking. Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Clarksburg, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
Finally a recipe for Maryland Crab Cakes made like we do it in most homes in Maryland. Most important things in a real Maryland Crab Cake - no filler - Old Bay and just jumbo lump crabmeat (being careful not to break it up when mixing). Has just the right amount of seasoning to add to the taste of the crab and not over whelm it. Thanks for setting the record straight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
THANK YOU! Served these & got rave reviews from my guest. The only chance I made was I added 1 tsp. of garlic powder. I love allrecipes.com!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Freeport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
This was great! This recipe makes 12. Try again; you'll really be glad you did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
Great crab cakes! i followed the recipe and they turned out wonderful. I made them for my father-in-law for Father's Day and he cleaned his plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMARTIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
Very easy and very tasty! I omitted the mustard and I used two real eggs with a 1/4 cup of half and half to simulate the egg beaters. In a word... delicious! Thanks for a great recipe; will definately make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
A very good Maryland recipe! Tastes like those I ate growing up on Maryland's Eastern Shore. I think using all soft butter and no mayo would be fine. The use of baking soda was new to me and I may fry them next time, but they were still very good. The key is both little filler and mild seasonings. Strong seasonings (such as bell pepper) can cover up the mild, sweet flavor of good Blue Crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westover, Maryland, USA
Living In: Green Lane, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
This was the first time I ever made crab cakes and they went over so well that I will never try another recipe. One tip though, if you like nice sized crab cakes, you will not get 12 unless you double the recipe... but if you want to make 12 miniature teaser crab cakes and have your friends and family begging for more then keep it the way it is! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Crab Rangoon

Wontons are stuffed with cream cheese and crabmeat and baked crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States