Baked Maryland Lump Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
Great recipe. I say this because this is pretty much the same way I make them. I have grown up in MD and it kills me when people say they have a recipe for a "true MD crab cake" and it has bread, green peppers.... blah blah blah. No... that is NOT Maryland! Best things to remember to anyone reading this... Use FRESH, LUMP, MARYLAND BLUE CRAB, STEAMED. If you don't have access to freshly steamed, then buy the FRESH BLUE CRAB in the plastic containers. NOT PASTURIZED in the can! Use only a SMALL amt of bread crumbs and NEVER... I mean NEVER press and "smoosh" together to make a "patty". FOLD crab LIGHTLY AND GENTLY to combine with other ingredients then form into an "airy", "half-sphere" type form. And "baking" is a must. Forget FRY! Also, Definitely chill in the refrigerator AT LEAST 1/2 hour prior to trying to bake them. It REALLY makes a difference when it comes to holding together. I do use REAL EGG. Also... never make a FLAT crab cake. They should be large, rounded and fluffy! Keeping this in mind... This recipe won't give you 12 cakes! Though using certain ingredients such as real butter and real mayonnaise may make them "less healthy"... it DOES make a difference in the taste. Oh... and NEVER use real mustard.... it has to be the powdered mustard! Good luck and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
570 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynsieC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parkville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
These Crab Cakes were very good and very easy to make! I did have to make a few changes only out of necessity. I didn’t have any baking powder so I omitted it. I also did not have mustard powder so I just used regular mustard. Even with the changes it was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
238 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
I made these last night and followed the recipe to a T and the flavor was perfect, however they were a little dry and I think the cook time may be too long because they were a little tough on the underside. Maybe just 7-10 min on each side would be sufficient. Next time I may use more mayo??? I did like them though and will try to make them again in the future with some small alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
Finally a recipe for Maryland Crab Cakes made like we do it in most homes in Maryland. Most important things in a real Maryland Crab Cake - no filler - Old Bay and just jumbo lump crabmeat (being careful not to break it up when mixing). Has just the right amount of seasoning to add to the taste of the crab and not over whelm it. Thanks for setting the record straight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
These were fantastic! I was looking for just this type of recipe to bake instead of fry. The only thing I did differently was to chill the cakes for a couple of hours before baking. Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Clarksburg, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
Very good crab cakes. I liked that they were baked.. felt healthier than frying them. I put them on a cookie sheet with foil, and sprayed some butter flavored cooking spray on it and put them on top. I didn't add enough egg because they were falling apart a lot.. I only added one egg (cause I didn't have any egg substitute). So next time I'll use another half of an egg or a second egg. I also used mustard instead of mustard powder because I didn't have that. Next time I will also try other reviewer's suggestions on refrigerating the cakes for a half hour before baking them to help them hold their shape. I also baked them for 10 minutes on each side. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
replaced mayo with ranch, used cajun seasoning instead of seafood, and added some chopped celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demimi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I wanted to give 5 stars but my mixture was too watery. Other than that it was delicious. My fiance is from the Chesapeake Bay area in Virginia and he said this was equal to, if not better than, what he remembers from that area. To solve the liquid issue I will make sure the crabmeat is completed drained and I will use 1/2 cup of egg substitute. Thank you for your recipe and for helping my fiance have a wonderful Valentine's Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grantville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
My husband always rave about Maryland crab cakes and he said that these were pretty good! I baked them in a muffin pan, so they were all even and brown on all sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamamia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
These were fantastic! I have tried crabcakes before and had almost given up on trying to cook them. I followed the recipe ingredients exactly with the exception of adding 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne pepper. As for cooking, I baked them only until the outside of them was semi-solid (about five minutes). After that I sauteed them in olive oil over medium heat on the stovetop for about two minutes (or less) each side. I realize this way of cooking takes away from the "baked" in the name of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Crab Rangoon

Wontons are stuffed with cream cheese and crabmeat and baked crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States