Baked Maryland Lump Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I almost ruined this by not paying attention to the directions and mixed the bread crumbs in with the eggs and other liquids - I had soupy crab cakes :) Not to worry, we rolled them in more breadcrumbs and they fried up just fine :) I used two beaten eggs, which was only about half a cup, and served with garlic aioli. I used a half cup measuring cup to make the cakes and got exactly 8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Just add tartar sauce, remoulade or cocktail on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
i live in south louisiana and have eaten many crab dishes, this is one of the best. thanks to the reviewer that said to use 2 eggs instead of the egg product. i'm an old redneck and didn't have a clue as to what "egg product" was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I have never made Crab Cakes before, but my fiance wanted it. I took a chance and made it and he said it was the best he has ever had, even better than ones at restaurants. It was easy to make and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Thank you SO MUCH for this recipe! Although I love crab cakes, this was the first time I actually tried to make them for myself. When I was searching for a recipe, one thing I knew that I definitely did NOT want to end up with were "doughy" crab cakes, which I really hate. So, that is why this recipe caught my attention, in addition to baking vs. frying. With the exception of some VERY helpful tips posted by "LynsieC" on 7/19/2007, I followed the recipe as it was written; and not only did they come out PERFECT, I have to admit that they are probably the best I have ever had (outside of the Maryland harbor when visiting family, of course!) The exceptions that I made were (based on Lynsie's tips): (1) I did use real egg (I used 2); (2) I did make them larger, and more round and fluffy (hence, much less than 12 crab cakes, as she noted, which was actually perfect, because they were for "dinner"); and I did refrigerate them for 1/2 hour before baking. I was also very careful to "fold" the crab gently when combining it with the other ingredients, so that the crab meat would not break up (as suggested). Additionally, the larger crab cakes will require that you increase your cooking time a bit; so you should keep that in mind. They were DELISH! And I am SO excited to FINALLY have a crab cake recipe that I can call my "own"! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weatherford, Texas, USA
Living In: North Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
My only complaint is that the old bay made it a little too "salty" for my taste. I will definitely make these again (with half the amt of old bay)! Delicious and definitley authentic Maryland Crab Cakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
4 1/2 stars I've lived in Southern Maryland for a year and never knew real crab cakes were baked, not fried. The only change I made was fresh bread crumbs, not dried. Other Maryland recipes called for broken up bread. The amount of Old Bay made this a tad salty. I might adjust that next time. The one downer for this recipe is that the house stank for 24 hours. Thanks for the recipe...this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
THESE WERE FANTASTIC!!! THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Hills, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gibsonia, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Great recipe! Easy and taste great. Especially love thats low in calories
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
This recipe was easy and good! A little salty, next time I will use low sodium Worchestshire and unsalted butter, to reduce the salt. I think this crab cake combined with a nice sauce would be amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Crab Rangoon

Wontons are stuffed with cream cheese and crabmeat and baked crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States