Baked Maryland Lump Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I live in the Mid Atlantic area and allot of people boast about their crab cake recipes. I will say this one you can say is pretty darn good. I use this as my base recipe when I make crab cakes. I get about 5, 4 inch round, 1 inch think cakes from one pound of lump crab meat. The are very rich but so good. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
It's a pretty good crab cake recipe. I'm near Baltimore & love a crab & kind of know a crab cake. Could've used alot more Old Bay in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
these were great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
I love this recipe! It is very similar to the one on the 40 year old box of Old Bay seasoning I brought with me when we moved to Washington State over 40 years ago. The newer bxes have a completely different recipe and ingredients. I have kept the box because when we first moved here, Old Bay had never been heard of out here, so my husband would buy me a can every time he went back to Baltimore. People were aghast that I would use Dungeness crab to make crab cakes[something else they had never heard of], but the minute they bit into them them kept their comments to themselves except to say "Oh, my gosh! I never tasted anything so good!" etc. Thank you I had made some today and I think the addition of butter might have helped the "lump" crab meat I used! Oh crab cakes are now sold every where out here at premium prices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Not bad, but a little bland. I appreciated the baking vs. pan-frying that most crab cakes come with... they were definitely less greasy. Followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
low fat, low carb, great flavor from seasonings, I love these crab cakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nutty

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Now that's a crab cake! I grew up near the Chesapeake bay myself in Virginia, and I must say this is the best crab cake recipe I've tried on here. I took the advice of another review and added 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper; it gave it that extra "kick" that my family loves. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
This would have been a five star review, however, this was my first time working with lump crab meat, and I had no idea you had to drain it and pick through it for shells. Therefore, they were a little wet. Overall though, the flavor was great. I only baked them 20 minutes total and didn't turn them since they weren't holding together. Also, I used 2 beaten whole eggs instead of egg substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Wow, this is a great recipe! I'm not originally from Maryland, but have lived here for 28 years and have developed a keen appreciation for a good crab cake. These are really, really good. I followed the recipe exactly using Panko break crumbs, and I wouldn't change a thing...except for the implied size and "turning them over" aspect of the instructions. I made them large and dome-shaped, and did not flip them. I got five reasonably-sized cakes from this recipe, and my native Maryland guest LOVED them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
This were so tasty for being baked! I used imitation crab and will not remove stars for that, however, they are probably even better with real crab. The consistency of imitation crab made clumping a little more difficult- but they did hold together. I put mix in the fridge for a few hours before cooking and that may have helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Crab Rangoon

Wontons are stuffed with cream cheese and crabmeat and baked crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States