Baked Maryland Lump Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
I made these just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
This is a very good crab cake recipe. Don't leave out the Old Bay if you want a Maryland crab cake! Tip to those who are novice crab cake makers -- don't try to form the crab cake like a meatball or a patty. I start with a scoop of crab cake mixture, put on the greased baking sheet, and then lightly pat/form a thicker cake (note the thickness in the picture with this recipe). Some cooks recommend to chill your crab cake mixture a few minutes before shaping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
These were very good. I made the recipe just as it said and refrigerated the mix for at least an hour before making them into patties. I used a measuring cup to scoop them into 4 large crab cakes. It took longer to bake and it did make them hard to turn over for the remaining baking time (meaning they wanted to fall apart), but I didn't want to press them together too much. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
One of the best crab cake recipes I've made. I substituted with 2 real eggs. I also wanted to make something with leftover mahi mahi and substiuding the fish for carb was awesome. Would highly recommend using with any sweet white fish foe a new spin on leftovers. Will plan to make with crab as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
This recipe is spot on! My husband and I travel to Chestertown Maryland often and love to go crabbing. These came out amazing and are truly a Maryland crab cake!!!! I won't make any other version from now on:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This is a wonderful recipe!! I, too, am from the Eastern Shore of Maryland and I am trying to eat better so I searched for a baked recipe -- this recipe is great and it is almost just like the one I grew up with. I had two small changes -- 1. I used Saltines instead of bread crumbs -- just because my grandmother used these and it is easier to use saltines :). 2. I used a whole egg instead of egg substitute -- just because I don't have any egg substitute. I think the flavor of the crab meat comes out better when baked than fried -- and it's a whole lot better for you when it is baked. This is my new recipe for crab cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
My family liked the taste. I did alter ingredients and experienced problems with the cakes sticking to the pan when they came out of the oven. I will do this recipe again because it has a good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
The flavor combination of the crab cakes were awesome. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ursina, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fort Drum, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Great recipe!!!! Very similar to G&M.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA
Living In: Owings Mills, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Larry N
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
This recipe was wonderful and my entire family loved it. We try to eat low carb & fat and I made a few minor changes...used whole wheat breadcrumbs, low fat mayonnaise and organic egg whites. The recipe was a little moist even with me cutting the egg whites to 1/2 cup but they came kept their form and weren't loose at all after baking. We will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States