Baked Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
I've used this recipe three times and it's amazing! I recommend using different types of shredded cheese just to mix things up. Other than that, the recipe is absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
I'd make this again with just a few changes: Adding two more tablespoons butter, and I drained the noodles and put all the ingredients with 2 tablespoons of flour on top the stove to warm up and mix before putting in the casserole in the oven. Would cover foray least 40 minutes then put under broiler to brown. Liked the crunchy crust I got on the bottom and sides and the custardy middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 24, 2015
In the end, the top layer of pasta never fully cooked in the baking process, leaving a crunchy inedible cover over the rest of it. Under that, the cheese didn't come out creamy or particularly cheesy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Dreyfuss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
Mine came out chunky. The flavor was nice (I added 1/4 tsp of ground mustard) but the consistency was not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
I liked it, but I would use less butter next time. My husband calls it "a good mac-and-cheese." Our 3-year-old did not like any of the macaroni that were crunchy, though, only the soft pieces from the bottom. I thought the flavor was good, but I did use two different types of cheese, and I did not hold back on adding salt. It's not the prettiest mac-and-cheese, so I would not make it to serve guests. It was finished @ 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
This hit the spot on a cold Maine winter night. What I did differently: added 1 tsp mustard powder, 1/2 tsp salt and several dashes paprika to the liquid mixture, in addition to the cheddar cheese, I added about a 1/2 cup shredded Colby Jack cheese. I also heated up the milk, cheese, egg, butter mixture whisking it constantly until it all melted and poured it on the lightly cooked pasta and finished it off with some seasoned bread crumbs. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Owls Head, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I liked this a lot, and I will definitely make this again. I added a lot more cheese, but that was just me. It would've been fine without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
turned out curdley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victor Wheby Jr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
This is very close to a recipe I used in a restaurant, except we didn't add any margarine or butter. We just cooked the pasta and immediately rinsed in cold water, poured it in a large casserole type dish and mixed in enormous amounts of cheese, then salt and pepper to taste(sea salt and fresh ground pepper is best) and mixed it all very well.(the cooling of the pasta kept the cheese from melting before we were finished with...)Then poured in a mixture of milk and eggs and slid the pan back and forth to spread it all out evenly, filling as many gaps in the pasta as is possible, and where the egg/milk mixture was just ever so slightly below the top of the pasta, then topped it with more cheese and bread crumbs :):) I'm glad to see someone else use milk and eggs in their mac and cheese because it DOES make a HUGE difference! Of course you can always "cheat" and add things on top like sun dried tomatoes, fresh mushroon slices or like I'm doing right now, adding pre-fried and drained bacon and adding only the meat part in crumbles. I figure there's already enough fat in the pan the way it is lol I've honestly not tried Meredith's recipe YET, but as a former cook for a living and just do it now for myself(boring but I get to experiment a lot!)for group events or just for my neighbor, it sounds DELICIOUS! Anyone who cooks a lot gets that "sense" of how something would taste, so you know what I mean. I promise to cook Meredith's version because it sounds like a DEFINITE WINNER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I really like this recipe and I've been fixing it for about 55 years. It's better than some of the recipes that have a flour base. This recipe does not set up like concrete the next day. I follow the directions as printed but always add a pitch of red pepper flakes, not enough to make it too spicy but just a "nip" also a small pinch of nutmeg. If I have some chips in the pantry, usually do cause no one finishes of the crumbs in the bottom of the bag, I use these for a topping. Also, I almost alway vary my cheeses, matter of fact I usually make this dish when I have several cheeses in the refrigerator, not enough of one to really make anything so I just shred them up and use them. I think my favorite one time was Fontina, Cheddar and a bit of Gorgonzola. I also add a lot of pepper to my Mac & Cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States