Baked Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I did this a couple of years ago, and it wasn't a popular hit around the house. Probably user error. This time around, everyone loved it including my semi-finicky 5-year old. Personally, I love it. I think the sweetness of the crackers can be a little much, but that would be more only (very minor) criticism. Aside from that, perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tucker, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Like noodles with cheese melted on them--feel like I could have just nuked some cheese on em & saved the time I spent baking them. My 17 yr old son actually chose this recipe-sadly it ended up in the trash. Will keep looking for a good mac n cheese recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNDERAE
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
This was my 1st Mac & Cheese from scratch and it was delicious. Two things stood out about the recipe that you have to be conscious of: salt and pepper ( to little and it could turn out bland), and cooking time ( took about 50-55 mins for the top to brown). I did change one thing from the original recipes, I used a three cheese combination instead of sharp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I made this one afternoon with a friend. We followed the recipe exactly and everything looked fine until we tasted it. Maybe there should of been more cheese and less milk or maybe it should have been a different kind of cheese because it came out very milky. The noodles were just filled with a milky butter liquid because the cheese wasn't creamy enough to mix with it. All in all, I would suggest finding a different recipe for baked mac and cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Faith N
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This is the recipe my mom went by for as long as I can remember. My husband fell in love with it at a family dinner and I've been making it myself ever since. I love to try different types of cheese in it as well as add some freshly fried bacon into the mixture. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
This is an excellent base recipe, though I did slightly modify it based on other reviewers' comments; in all, I would recommend to add more milk and more cheese, so that you have an adequate amount of sauce prior to baking. I upped the milk to about 3 cups, whisked the egg with the milk in a saucepan, simmered it on low heat on the stove, and then added the butter and shredded cheese, until the cheese started to melt within the milk mixture. I quickly realized it would not be "cheesy" enough, so added more until I thought it was adequate; probably in excess of 3 cups of cheese. Then poured the cheesy mixture over the macaroni noodles and baked for about 20 minutes. In the end, it turned out GREAT, and my husband said it tasted like a Southern-restaurant quality dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Very good probably one of the greatest macaroni and cheese recipes I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
This is sooo good! So easy to make and everyone loved it! I added tuna to it, too. Super good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I really love this recipe! It is easy to understand and follow. The first time I made the macaroni as is and the second time I added a couple of changes. I found that if you add finely diced white onion to the macaroni and cheese before you bake it it adds a kick and more crunch to the dish. I also added a crispy bacon topping and did not use any additional salt and pepper. My family and friends really enjoyed the dish and I bet you will too!! Happy Cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I used this recipe to make baked bacon mac and cheese. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States