Baked Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I made it like the recipe but instead of salt I used season salt so good n creamy come out perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
I just use basic Velveeta (the more expensive 2% milk variety) + a little extra milk to a pot of macaroni. I season it with a pinch of salt and cayenne pepper. Tip: Don't ever let the kids see you adding pepper. You have to sneak it in. Cayenne disappears into the cheese sauce. If you don't add the pepper, it will be bland. Add a little bit of cheddar or gruyere for flavor, but otherwise just leave it alone and don't mess with it, or try to out do it like Bobby Flay. If you use too much egg, cheese, and butter it tends to separate. You don't need butter, eggs, onions, fancy cheeses or breadcrumbs. Kids won't like it that way. With the Velveeta trick, you can eat it right out of the pot. Tip: I would refrigerate before I baked to set the dish. Otherwise it will turn to soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Segel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
This is a great base recipe. I made a few tweeks and it came out amazing!! I used 3/4 box of cavatappi pasta cooked for 5 minutes then placed into a greased glass baking pan. I sprinkled a handful of shredded cheddar cheese, 1/2 tsp paprika, and an ounce of cubed gruyere cheese over this. For the cheese mix I heated 2 cups milk, 1 egg, 3 tbl butter, 2 1/2 cups shredded cheddar cheese, 4 oz cubed gruyere cheese, 2 oz extra sharp cheese cubed, and then all extra shredded cheese I had in my fridge (it ended up being about 1 1/2 cups of various mozzarella, pizza and Mexican blends). Once melted and bubbly that was poured over the pasta. Cooked that uncovered for 10 minutes then added 5 slices of almost cooked bacon and covered with a mixture of buttered and browned Italian bread crumbs, ritz crackers and Panko bread crumbs. Covered and cooked for 15 minutes. Then uncovered sprinkled with a bit of shredded cheddar cheese and baked for 5 more minutes. AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I did this a couple of years ago, and it wasn't a popular hit around the house. Probably user error. This time around, everyone loved it including my semi-finicky 5-year old. Personally, I love it. I think the sweetness of the crackers can be a little much, but that would be more only (very minor) criticism. Aside from that, perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tucker, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Like noodles with cheese melted on them--feel like I could have just nuked some cheese on em & saved the time I spent baking them. My 17 yr old son actually chose this recipe-sadly it ended up in the trash. Will keep looking for a good mac n cheese recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNDERAE
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
This was my 1st Mac & Cheese from scratch and it was delicious. Two things stood out about the recipe that you have to be conscious of: salt and pepper ( to little and it could turn out bland), and cooking time ( took about 50-55 mins for the top to brown). I did change one thing from the original recipes, I used a three cheese combination instead of sharp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I made this one afternoon with a friend. We followed the recipe exactly and everything looked fine until we tasted it. Maybe there should of been more cheese and less milk or maybe it should have been a different kind of cheese because it came out very milky. The noodles were just filled with a milky butter liquid because the cheese wasn't creamy enough to mix with it. All in all, I would suggest finding a different recipe for baked mac and cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Faith N
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This is the recipe my mom went by for as long as I can remember. My husband fell in love with it at a family dinner and I've been making it myself ever since. I love to try different types of cheese in it as well as add some freshly fried bacon into the mixture. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
This is an excellent base recipe, though I did slightly modify it based on other reviewers' comments; in all, I would recommend to add more milk and more cheese, so that you have an adequate amount of sauce prior to baking. I upped the milk to about 3 cups, whisked the egg with the milk in a saucepan, simmered it on low heat on the stove, and then added the butter and shredded cheese, until the cheese started to melt within the milk mixture. I quickly realized it would not be "cheesy" enough, so added more until I thought it was adequate; probably in excess of 3 cups of cheese. Then poured the cheesy mixture over the macaroni noodles and baked for about 20 minutes. In the end, it turned out GREAT, and my husband said it tasted like a Southern-restaurant quality dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Very good probably one of the greatest macaroni and cheese recipes I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 317) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States