Baked Macaroni and Cheese with Tomato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This was AWESOME! Definitely a keeper :) The only thing is the next time I make this, I will 1/2 the recipe. It makes ALOT! But oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
I added a can of well drained diced tomatoes... Helped to make it a bit more juicy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
We all (toddlers and parents) really loved this. It was more like a "baked ziti" with less cheese. We like it creamy on the bottom and a tad crispy on top, so this is a keeper. Based on reviews we made our additions... ADDED 2 CLOVES CRUSHED GARLIC, 1 TBSP ITALIAN SEASONING, 1 tsp ONION POWDER. We used 2-3 slices of (GF) bread grated with the large holes of the cheese grater for the topping. Perfect. We love the dairy free, gluten free version: brown rice macaroni, rice milk, cheddar-like goat cheese, can tomato sauce, and for the butter: coconut oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
With a little tweaking this recipe is fantastic. I added some minced garlic & freshly ground Italian seasoning. I omitted the milk, reduced the cheddar cheese to 1 cup and added an 8 oz. package of softened cream cheese. It added such a creamy taste and texture to the sauce. I changed so many things because I was working with what I had in my cupboard, but it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ulster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
really like this recipe! I added a tbsp of basil garlic seasoning and I think next time I would add a little more tomato soup. 3/4 of the family can. It is very tasty and easy. My family ate it up. This would be good with a spinach salad and baked garlic/lemon chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alwayscdn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
As per the previous reviewer I added garlic and Italian dressing. I also added about 5 slices of American cheese and some Parmesan on top, under the bread crumbs. Both my husband and I loved this recipe and are making it again tonight (first time was a few months ago). I see people say that it is bland and I could see how that would be the case without the little extras. It really is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
My family really liked this. A little rubbery on the top after cooking for 40 minutes. I recommend checking the dish after 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
my kids really enjoyed this. i added a little dehydrated garlic (1.5 tsp) & didn't add any butter or breadcrumbs because i just didnt feel like it! only baked for about 1.2 hour. My kids & I devoured it! -- will definately make this again for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mission, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I made this adding 1 TBSP Italian seasoning, 1 tsp. onion powder and a scoop of fresh garlic per one of the reviews. It would have been so bland without it. I also only cooked it 30 mins. it was okay. I'll keep looking for that one great comfort food type recipe I hope is out there. Until then I guess I'll stick with mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dixon, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2002
This recipe was very easy to prepare, but tasted very bland. I even added basil and savory, but it didn't work. It needs "something" to give it zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States