Baked Macaroni and Cheese with Tomato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
It's edible. However, it was incredibly bland (despite using basil and oregano tomato soup concentrate), and there was a puddle of butter in the bowl after eating. I won't try this recipe again, not even with one of the MANY suggested modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Definitely not your traditional mac and cheese. I can see this as a great recipe for a family with children that want a cheap/fast meal. I thought it was edible but not something I'll make again. I used a mixture of several cheeses that I had little bits of including mild cheddar, colby jack and blue. I also added a pinch of red pepper flakes which I felt needed to be included to keep it from being bland. Instead of the bread crumbs and butter I used some crushed Cheezits. Overall it was a decent comfort food but not something I care to repeat. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Fairly easy to make, but as others have written, it is very bland and doesn't have a great "cheesy" flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Quick, simple, and tasty! I added 2 garlic cloves (pressed), 2 tablespoons of dehydrated onion flakes, and 1 tsp of black pepper. topped with Italian seasoned bread crumbs. I think that if I used half the macaroni it called for, it would of been creamier. Just seems like there wasnt enough liquid ingredients for the macaroni. It made ALOT! Otherwise, we enjoyed the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I love the combo of cheese, macaroni, and tomato soup. My husband liked it ok, but he is not a fan of tomato soup so if you don't like tomato soup, I suggest you not making this one - the flavor is defiantly there. But for those of us who do, this is a five star! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
It was a little bit bland so I cooked onion and green peppers, added a bit of diced tomatoes and tomato juice, garlic, added cheese on top plus 6 slices of almost cooked bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goodbar

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I made this recipe last night and my son and I loved it. I took some advice from the other postings and customized it a bit. I used half the macaroni and milk suggested. I added a can of diced tomatoes (with juice), garlic powder, italian seasonings and salt-free seasoning. I didn't put butter in the casserole but I can see where it would have tasted good. Everythings better with butter, right ; ) I did put it over the top of the breadcrumbs. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schenier1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
You really can add just about any vegetable to this recipe and our choice is broccoli. Don't even need to precook it because the baking leaves it plenty soft. Added garlic powder and basil and I downed the butter and didn't miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gigerbopper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
FANTASTIC AND BEYOND EASY! I cook for 12-16 every Sunday. Double this recipe and change quantities of ingredients as follows: 2 lbs pasta, 2 cans chunk tomatoes w/sauce, 6 cups milk, 6-7 cups shredded sharp cheddar, 2 sticks butter (1 for topping), 6-9 cloves garlic if desired, 1 tsp salt. Add topping last 30 minutes - 1 cup dry bread crumbs, 1/4 cup parmesan cheese, and other stick of butter/melted. Bake 1-1/2 hours in huge oiled pan. (You might like to save half the cheddar for sprinkling on top of bread crumbs). 5 Stars +
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I needed a win and this recipe was it last night. Great mild comfort food. Fine recipe as-is, strong platform for more adventurous tastes. I left out the butter in the mixture and added a 14oz. can of diced tomatoes. Next time I will try with Brie or Gruyere. The time after that I will use onions and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States