Baked Macaroni and Cheese with Tomato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
This is a fairly easy, fairly healthy mac & cheese recipe. My changes: I used Barilla Plus mac elbows and added ground Flaxseed to the breadcrumb mixture, as well as less butter than called for. I also added 1/2 can of diced tomatoes. Overall, it was tasty and I would make it again... although my picky eaters ate less (due to the tomato) than they would of boxed mac & cheese :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
As per the previous reviewer I added garlic and Italian dressing. I also added about 5 slices of American cheese and some Parmesan on top, under the bread crumbs. Both my husband and I loved this recipe and are making it again tonight (first time was a few months ago). I see people say that it is bland and I could see how that would be the case without the little extras. It really is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This was AWESOME! Definitely a keeper :) The only thing is the next time I make this, I will 1/2 the recipe. It makes ALOT! But oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
my kids really enjoyed this. i added a little dehydrated garlic (1.5 tsp) & didn't add any butter or breadcrumbs because i just didnt feel like it! only baked for about 1.2 hour. My kids & I devoured it! -- will definately make this again for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mission, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I've been looking for a recipe like this. My mother-in-law always makes a tomato macaroni casserole and my husband always asked me to make that for him. This is better with the cheese and onions and I enjoy it now too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDENSVEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Millet, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
really like this recipe! I added a tbsp of basil garlic seasoning and I think next time I would add a little more tomato soup. 3/4 of the family can. It is very tasty and easy. My family ate it up. This would be good with a spinach salad and baked garlic/lemon chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alwayscdn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
With a little tweaking this recipe is fantastic. I added some minced garlic & freshly ground Italian seasoning. I omitted the milk, reduced the cheddar cheese to 1 cup and added an 8 oz. package of softened cream cheese. It added such a creamy taste and texture to the sauce. I changed so many things because I was working with what I had in my cupboard, but it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ulster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This was pretty good, but a little bland. I didn't have condensed tomato soup but had a carton of roasted tomato soup from Trader Joe's. I added a good amount and it gave the dish a nice flavor. I also added peas. It turned out really nice; next time I'll probably add some additional seasonings but I'd definitely make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Family loved it. I thought it was a little drier than I'd like, also a little oily from the butter. I do like the tomato soup in it though - it adds a little mystery ingredient to it. Don't get me wrong, it's good! Just not the best I've ever had. I doubled the recipe b/c my family LOVES mac and cheese. I will make it again though b/c it was SO simple. I'll add some velveta next time to make it a little more creamier though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlene1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Great mac and cheese! My husband wants me to make it for him only, so he has plenty leftovers to take to work. I used ritz crackers instead of breadcrumbs, because I was out and it was fine. Easy, Easy, Easy and GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States