Baked Macaroni and Cheese with Tomato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
This is a fairly easy, fairly healthy mac & cheese recipe. My changes: I used Barilla Plus mac elbows and added ground Flaxseed to the breadcrumb mixture, as well as less butter than called for. I also added 1/2 can of diced tomatoes. Overall, it was tasty and I would make it again... although my picky eaters ate less (due to the tomato) than they would of boxed mac & cheese :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
As per the previous reviewer I added garlic and Italian dressing. I also added about 5 slices of American cheese and some Parmesan on top, under the bread crumbs. Both my husband and I loved this recipe and are making it again tonight (first time was a few months ago). I see people say that it is bland and I could see how that would be the case without the little extras. It really is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This was AWESOME! Definitely a keeper :) The only thing is the next time I make this, I will 1/2 the recipe. It makes ALOT! But oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
my kids really enjoyed this. i added a little dehydrated garlic (1.5 tsp) & didn't add any butter or breadcrumbs because i just didnt feel like it! only baked for about 1.2 hour. My kids & I devoured it! -- will definately make this again for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mission, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I've been looking for a recipe like this. My mother-in-law always makes a tomato macaroni casserole and my husband always asked me to make that for him. This is better with the cheese and onions and I enjoy it now too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDENSVEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Millet, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
really like this recipe! I added a tbsp of basil garlic seasoning and I think next time I would add a little more tomato soup. 3/4 of the family can. It is very tasty and easy. My family ate it up. This would be good with a spinach salad and baked garlic/lemon chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alwayscdn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
With a little tweaking this recipe is fantastic. I added some minced garlic & freshly ground Italian seasoning. I omitted the milk, reduced the cheddar cheese to 1 cup and added an 8 oz. package of softened cream cheese. It added such a creamy taste and texture to the sauce. I changed so many things because I was working with what I had in my cupboard, but it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ulster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This was pretty good, but a little bland. I didn't have condensed tomato soup but had a carton of roasted tomato soup from Trader Joe's. I added a good amount and it gave the dish a nice flavor. I also added peas. It turned out really nice; next time I'll probably add some additional seasonings but I'd definitely make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Family loved it. I thought it was a little drier than I'd like, also a little oily from the butter. I do like the tomato soup in it though - it adds a little mystery ingredient to it. Don't get me wrong, it's good! Just not the best I've ever had. I doubled the recipe b/c my family LOVES mac and cheese. I will make it again though b/c it was SO simple. I'll add some velveta next time to make it a little more creamier though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlene1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Great mac and cheese! My husband wants me to make it for him only, so he has plenty leftovers to take to work. I used ritz crackers instead of breadcrumbs, because I was out and it was fine. Easy, Easy, Easy and GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States