Baked Macaroni and Cheese III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
As is I only give it 3 stars. I added extra evaporated milk, parm and smoked gouda to the cheddar, extra sour cream, chicken broth, onionpowder, garlic powder and white pepper. Mix it all in a large bowl and placed it in a 9 x 13. Topped it with panko crumbs and sprinkled with more shredded parm, garlic pepper and paprika and dash of salt. I didn't expect the recipe to be creamy, not what I was looking for anyway. I was looking more for a southern homemade which is what I had when I was done modifying the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Yale, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This is a great recipe! My kids loved it! I definitely added extra cheese and used sharp, mild and colby jack. You have to at least double the sauce as well. Will definitely use this one again. So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette H.
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I loved this, as did the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I always believe in following a recipe exactly as printed before rating it. Besides following the recipe, I also viewed the video that accompanies this recipe. The recipe does not state what size pan to bake it in, but the video does say an 8 x 8 pan, which I think is crucial. While the recipe does have good flavor, I did find it to be a bit dry, and when I think of mac 'n cheese, I think of it being wonderfully creamy. I'm still searching for that perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jfalke
Home Town: Jamestown, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
This recipe is a keeper for me :). I've been looking for a good Mac & Cheese recipe for months. After watching a few of the videos on the site, I decided to give this recipe a try. I did double the sauce receipe (minus the eggs). I mixed in 1 cup of sharp shredded cheddar cheese into the cheese sauce, and I also mixed in the Parmesean cheese into the cheese sauce, as well. Mixed my noodles into the cheese mixture. I sprayed my pan with Pam, poured half of the mixture into the pan, topped it with about a cup of sharp cheddar cheese, poured the rest of the mixture into the pan, and topped that off with enough sharp cheddar cheese to cover the mixture. Sprinkled some seasoned bread crumbs across the top, and poured the melted butter on. Cooked for 20 minutes at 350 degrees. Turned out pretty tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunni Blake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I don't enjoy macaroni and cheese made with processed cheese and was so happy to find a simple recipe with solid, "real" ingredients. I made it the way it was suggested and enjoyed it, but for the future I would probably add more cheese, maybe sharp cheddar, and will probably try it with more evaporated milk as others have suggested. My 1 and 2 years are somewhat picky eaters and they both gobbled this up and asked for more. This reminds me of a recipe an old friend used to make - I was in heaven :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I took this dish to a pot luck dinner at my church and everybody loved it. Especially my children. This one I will use again and again. It made a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brownwood, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Yes, this is a good base recipe. But I followed some advice from other reviewers. You definitely need 2 cans of evaporated milk. I just used my own judgement with the cheese and also added velveeta. The only thing I forgot to do was add the season salt and pepper. However, the mac and cheese came out great. I will definitely make this again with the modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Not bad. Ended up putting a full can of milk and extra cheese after reading the reviews, as well as chopped up left over ham from Easter dinner (boiled it in with the pasta in order to reduce the saltiness), and used penne as I didn't have macaroni. Also threw in a pinch of cayenne as I think it goes great with old cheddar. Lots of leftovers as it made so much. Will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
The cheese part was clumpy / did not turn into a sauce. Maybe I did something wrong for the cheese. This recipe would probably be a lot better with half as much pasta as called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States