Baked Macaroni and Cheese III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Yes, this is a good base recipe. But I followed some advice from other reviewers. You definitely need 2 cans of evaporated milk. I just used my own judgement with the cheese and also added velveeta. The only thing I forgot to do was add the season salt and pepper. However, the mac and cheese came out great. I will definitely make this again with the modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Not bad. Ended up putting a full can of milk and extra cheese after reading the reviews, as well as chopped up left over ham from Easter dinner (boiled it in with the pasta in order to reduce the saltiness), and used penne as I didn't have macaroni. Also threw in a pinch of cayenne as I think it goes great with old cheddar. Lots of leftovers as it made so much. Will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
The cheese part was clumpy / did not turn into a sauce. Maybe I did something wrong for the cheese. This recipe would probably be a lot better with half as much pasta as called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I was more interested in the Southern Mac & Cheese that was highlighted in the video and talked about "stirred, custard-like sauce" that is poured over the top of the cooked macaroni. I did not care for this version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
My kids watch this cook in the oven like they might watch their favorite movie. A slight addition is that I combine rice crispies, shredded cheese, and butter, and then use this as the topping. It gives it a nice crunchy texture, and prevents the top noodles from getting overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Very good, followed other users advise like add a whole can of evaporated milk, add more cheese and use a smaller pan. It turned out excellent and my two daughters (the critics here) loved it and ate their meals in record time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
I used Trader Joes brand fat free greek yogurt instead of sour cream. This was very good, creamy, and delicious. I did add more salt than it called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I picked this recipe because it looked super quick and easy with minimal ingredients and didn't recquire the need to make a white sauce. The flavor is way too bland. It needs spices; garlic, onion, dry mustard and maybe a pinch of cayenne. I followed the advice of other reviews and used the sauce on only 8 oz of pasta shells.Which was good, since 16 oz would have made it too dry. I did not layer the ingredients. I stirred them all together and poured into a 8x8 pan. I used fat free sour cream and 2 % sharp cheddar. Instead of butter I drizzled with roasted garlic olive oil. I went ahead and added the whole 5 oz can of evaporated milk. Couldn't see throwing away that last ounce of milk. Has potential but as, flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Good flavor but a little on the dry side even though I used only half of the macaroni. Thought it would be much creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
My husband and I loved it! I added the breadcrumb topping from John Thorne's mac & cheese recipe (Toasted Bread Crumbs, 1 cup fresh bread crumbs, 1 pinch salt, 1 1/2 tbsp unsalted butter -- melted) and it was absolutely delicious. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobbies-girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery Village, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States