Baked Macaroni and Cheese III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
This was delicious BUT I made a lot of modifications. Following other reviews, I doubled the sauce part and tripled the cheese. I even had to take out some of the macaroni because there wasn't enough sauce to make it as cheese as I like. I used some chedder, pepper jack & gorgonzola. I mixed it all together instead of layering. I mixed in breadcrumbs with the parmesean cheese. I added white pepper, garlic powder & onion powder. I also mixed in a lot of jalapeno peppers & a little bit of juice. My boyfriend is a jalapeno fiend. The result is delicious! If you're expecting stovetop mac & cheese w/ processed cheese...this isn't the recipe for you! This is BAKED mac & cheese! I will add this to my notebook of recipes to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
449 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yeongmee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
I made this for my in-laws for our Christmas Eve dinner and everyone loved it! I read some of the reviews beforehand (which I highly recommend) and decided based on those to use a smaller pan so that it would not dry out (I used a Corningware 2.8 liter dish). I didn't really measure the cheese but used I'm sure more than the original recipe called for. I also added bread crumbs to the top for a twist. I followed all the other measurements exactly. The sour cream component makes the difference I think. What I like about this dish is that it's more than just a cheese sauce you melt and pour over pasta as if it were from a box. It's a real old fashioned mac and cheese bake like the ones I grew up with--very cheesy, moist. And it didn't take that long to make. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
371 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
I added a full can of the evaporated milk and added a healthy slab of Velveeta after reading other reviews of this recipe. On it's own it's a good recipe, with a bit of tweaking it's a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
My hubby and I just loved this recipe. It's quick and easy to make and very tasty. I think maybe the people that complained about it being too dry may have used a 9x13 pan. The recipe doesn't state what size to use so I made it in a 8x8 pan. I think a larger pan would cause the pasta to cook too quickly and become very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2002
I love this recipe. Very tasty and not alot of work! I made it for a family pot luck and I have been asked for the recipe many times, there is also a request for it at the next Baby shower coming up. I did make one change, when I double the recipe, I used 3 eggs instead of 4 and added an extra cup of milk to make it a little creamier, Where it is such a large amount I found it needed the little extra
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
My family liked this one! We have been trying different recipes for mac and cheese, and this one got the best reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Russellville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
I almost did'nt make this cause of the bad reviews,but i am glad I did! It was delish and not dry at all. Just goes to show you that you need to try a recipe for yourself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KECIA123

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
As suggested by many others, I doubled the ingredients for the milk mixure as well as the cheeses. My whole family loved it. I'm already being hounded for another batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chatsworth, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
After reading the reviews, I double the sauce but not the eggs & it was fabulous! I made enough for 40 people (using 2 large pans) & it was easy to make the entire batch at one time. There would not have been enough sauce if I had not doubled it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
My family loves this recipe and I have made it numerous times. My friends always ask me to make it for get togethers too. I dont change much - I just leave out the butter on top (dont need any more fat for such a high calorie recipe). Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OLYBROWNS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States