Baked Macaroni and Cheese III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
With a few changes this recipe is a great start for awesome baked mac-n-chez. I started with a 12oz. box of pasta. I doubled the cheese mixture except for the eggs and substituted swiss for parmesan. I also added a little cumin and brown mustard to the mix like my mom does. I then added frozen peas, topped it off w/ crushed bbq potato chips, and omitted the butter. Amazing! My fiancee says its the way mac-n-chez should taste :). The sour cream is the winning ingredient. Next time I'll try more sour cream and monteray jack cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parsippany, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
definitely double the milk sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I was so upset with this recipe. My husband and kids who love Mac n Cheese refused to eat this. I did not blame them. I followed this recipe exactly the way it was stated and it was so dry and lacked the creamy texture and flavor. Others who reviewed this had great things to say about this recipe but it did not work out that way for me. It was so embarassing. My husband ended up making Kraft mac n cheese to please them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
came out very dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
My picky eater LOVED it and even helped me make it. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
A wonderful recipe. I gave it 4 stars because it could have been a little bit moister even though I took it out of the oven just as the top was browning. Next time I will make more of the milk mixture. Also, this would be great with chicken or tuna added. The egg in the recipe makes the dish satisfying. Husband liked it, I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yaupon Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I THOUGHT IT WAS VERY DRY AND WAS HOPING FOR CREAMY AND IT WAS NOT. i WISH i HAD READ OTHER REVIEWS. eVERYONE WHO SAID IT WAS GREAT HAD ALL MODIFIED IT AND ADDED OTHER THINGS . wILL KNOW FOR NEXT TIME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Wow-- it was so easy! Condensed milk comes in 12 ounce cans, and I didn't want to have a partial can sitting in the fridge, so I used the whole thing. Turned out great! We also added seasoned bread crumbs to the top, and it added a nice texture! Forgot the butter-- no one missed it. A 2.5-quart (80-ounce) chafing dish was the perfect size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Li

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This is the one and only mac and cheese I have ever enjoyed (seriously!). I recommend using an 8x8 pan to avoid the drying out issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
The people who gave this a bad review doesn't know how to cook. It was good and creamy. of course I made some minor changes. I didn't follow the directions to the exact amount. That's where everyone that gave it a bad review went wrong. I just added everything to the pan and mixed it all together. I didn't add egg. Just a lot of sour cream, butter, and a little regular milk. I added a ton of cheese. I used shredded sharp cheddar, shredded monterey jack, and some mozzarella. it turned out creamy. I just added enough stuff to where it looked right for the amount I was making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States