Baked Macaroni and Cheese I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
YES! the onions add a nice sophistication, and we added frozen peas as well for a bit more health. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I have made this a few times and it is definately better without the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof3greatboys

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vilas, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I thought this was a nice recipe. I enjoyed the bacon and onion flavors because it made the usual mac and cheese so different. I did add bread crumbs on the top with the extra cheese, and that made a nice crust. I think I used too much pasta, but it was still great and I will make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Maine, USA
Living In: Middletown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
My husband made this for dinner tonight on a whim and it turned out great. We've been eating his mother's traditional mac & cheese with mixed success. Next time we'll try some of the other suggestions for variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallisville, Texas, USA
Living In: Crosby, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
WOW! This was really good! I used about 6 slices of bacon, removed from the pot when browned and then I used about 2 tsps of the bacon drippings to saute the chopped onions and garlic for a little extra flavour. After removing the onions and garlic I used the same pot to make the sauce. When adding the milk i added only about 1/4 cup at a time while constantly whisking to ensure that it would be smooth. Before adding the cheese i removed the milk from the direct heat and allowed it to cool for a moment so that it wouldn't be grainy. Best mac n cheese my family has ever had! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Not sure what to say, it was yummy, but a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minot

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Not the best macaroni and cheese I've tasted. I expected more. As my first time mac n cheese recipe, I did not want the flourry taste as some commented on. I followed some suggestions by reviewers but unfortunately did not substitute the flour for cornstarch. I had very slowly added the milk at low heat and waited forever for it to thicken. I did not use onions as I do not like them. I had it on low heat for over 10+ minutes without it thickening at all--still watery! the only way it would thicken is if i had raised it up to medium heat (and it still took some time to thicken with my constant stirring to prevent chunks/uneveness). I had used medium cheddar (the recipe didn't really state what type - i assumed mild). I took the sauce off heat for a few mins and added the cheddar very slowly while stirring. Overall, all of the time/effort to make this was not worth the end result. I was ok, but I was disappointed when I got a grainy taste after I had followed all of the other suggestions from the reviews. I wonder if cornstarch would serve better as a thickener and prevent the flour taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I'm giving this 5 stars because the cheese sauce was fantastic! I'm anxious to try it on broccoli. I left out the bacon, onion, and garlic and used elbow macaroni instead of penne. This was going to be the beginning of my search for a good mac and cheese recipe, but my search has ended before it really began :) This is neither a typical baked mac and cheese nor the cheesy Kraft kind... it's somewhere in between. I absolutely love that this recipe does not use processed cheese, and it does not need it, in my opinion. If anyone is getting a flour taste, you're not cooking the roux long enough. It needs a full two minutes on medium low heat before you start adding the milk. And you need to really nurse the cheese mixture a bit... constantly stir it and *gradually* add the milk and then the cheese for best results. I went ahead and mixed all 3 cups of cheese into the cheese sauce and didn't bother adding any to the top. I baked the whole thing for 25-30 minutes. It tasted even better the next day. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seneca, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Not the best mac & cheese I have had. I had to add extra flour and the sauce still didn't thicken. The recipe didn't list how much cheese to use either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J.j. Bichard

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Marietta, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
This was a huge hit with my family. My 3 year old son was even asking for seconds. I however, made a few changes out of necessity. First off, I didn't have any onion so that was omitted. Then because I was too lazy and short on time to defrost and cook any bacon, I chopped up some presliced pepperoni. I sauteed the roni with the garlic and drained off the extra grease. Then I didn't have enough cheddar cheese so I mixed in Monterey Jack and Mozzerella. I also was a bit worried when I mixed it all together and it seemed too runny so I baked it for an extra 10 minutes (30 minutes total). Absolutely, hands down, THE best mac and cheese recipe on the site!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States