Baked Macaroni and Cheese I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
When making the roux you can also substitute the butter with bacon fat. I save my bacon drippings in a mason jar in the freezer and use it all the time when cooking. It works great in this dish since we are adding bacon anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
We add a can of quartered artichokes and use about half the cheese but this is great! Hubby asks for it every other week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Steubenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grove City, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I thought this recipe was great! I will preface my review with the fact that I have never made macaroni from scratch before and am still learning a lot about cooking. As always, lots of previous reviews helped me. Those along with my own suggestions: (1) use 3 cups cheese in the sauce, (2) mix up the cheeses - i did 2 cups sharp cheddar, 1 cup colby jack, and a little bit of both mixed with parmesan on top, (3) a light coating of bread crumbs under the top layer of cheese. For my version, I used a whole 13.5 oz box of whole grain macaroni noodles and it was perfect. I did not add the onions or bacon (working with limited time and a large group) but I did add cumin as suggested (and, as noted, couldn't taste it at all so I guess it was a good thing??). I had to google "roux" and was glad I did since mixing flour and water seemed a bit odd. The sauce took longer than I anticipated. I was unsure at what point the roux/milk mixture thickened but someone had noted that as soon as it thickens at all, it's done. So, I went with that. Will turn the stove up slightly above Low next time bc I think it was not hot enough (and therefore took longer). I baked it for about 15 minutes but then covered it with foil for a bit longer. I got A LOT of compliments (served it with slow cooker bbq pork and California Coleslaw which is from allrecipes too). Will definitely be making this macaroni again --- so sad there were no leftovers!!! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I used jalapeno bacon which gave it a nice flavor. I probably will add some cayenne next time. Great base recipe to embellish as you please!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kdsale

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
We followed the recipe exactly, except we used whole wheat ingredients. It was good! If I were to make it again, I would probably add a bit more spice, as it was rather bland, but my kids ate it, which was a huge compliment!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: River Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Good recipe. I like to ad some mustard and worstershire to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
It was all right. Fairly bland. Of course, I did use 16 oz. of pasta, not 8. Still, next time I will definitely season it up a bit! And I like it not as saucy as it would have been had I used 8 oz. of pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I used cubed ham instead of the bacon and added sun dried tomatoes. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V.V.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I've tried a few different mac & cheese recipes and none have turned out just right. This one did, though! My husband, who much prefers the boxed version of this food, actually took two helpings. I already loved the taste, but seeing him go back for more when he usually won't even touch homemade mac & cheese really sold me on this recipe! My changes: I added 1/4 teaspoon ground mustard, thanks to a reviewer's suggestion, and that turned the dish from really good to wonderful! I also only had two cups of cheddar so I added a cup of mixed american and mozzarella. Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annierooney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stephanie
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This turned out great! I used only 2 cups of cheddar, plus 1/2 cup parmesan and 1/2 cup mozzarella for the topping. The sauce turned out great and was the perfect thickness. I made sure to add the milk slowly, and it took awhile to reach the right consistency, but it really turned out tasty and the cheese melted perfectly in the sauce. So very good! Would definitely make this again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 307) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States