Baked Macaroni and Cheese I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
Even following suggestions by other reviewers the cheese was still gritty. Very off putting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Ree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Very good! Trying to be the most efficient (and dirty the least dishes) I made the sauce all in one pan. Use a large pan to cook the bacon, then remove it. Cook the onions and garlic in the bacon grease (why waste that extra bacon flavor?!). Add 1 TBSP of butter to the onions after they have cooked, then add the flour and proceed. With any gravy or roux base, I've found that after adding the milk, stir until it comes to a boil and boil for 1 minute, while still stirring - that usually thickens it up nicely and removes any lumps. Like others, I added salt and pepper and may add other spices next time. But overall it was super yummy and my whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Best Mac and Cheese recipe that I've made to date. I did saute garlic and onion in the bacon fat and added 1/4 tsp dry mustard to the roux. The rest stayed the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
The fact that my kids think box mac n cheese is the best, they loved this version. I did add more cheese and only used 1/2 of an onion. It came out perfect and its no more box for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Just like most almost everyone that has tried this recipe, I had to add a little salt in the sauce. My family loved it.I love that fact that a little goes a long way. The recipe says that it is for 5 servings but I got about 8. I will be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brecobismom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
This was good. It's not the cheesiest, it's more like a casserole, and quite heavy for a meal. Still in small portions its good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sumcreativecook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Monte, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I loved this respie. I love when there aren't a lot of ingrediants and it's still delicious. I tweaked it a little. firt off, I used Wondra and added it until it was the consistency I wanted to the butter. Also, I used bacon pieces from Oscar Meyer to it. I skipped the onion, after reading some the reviewsand my own sense told me onion might not be a good idea. Another reviewer wrote that she added saltines melted with butter on the top, loved that idea, too. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
While this doesn't knock my socks off every time I ALWAYS get rave reviews from husband and children. I pretty much stick to the recipe but often add peas to it to get some 'green' in there. I also sometimes crumble potato chips on top or seasoned bread crumbs for a bit of crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
more bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by angie31279
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This recipe is very good, you may need to add a little more bacon as i did for more flavor...yum, the first time you make it, you may feel there isn't as much flavor but then the next time you make it you can add you own little twist to this recipe. My twist was to add more bacon and some cheyenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States