Baked Macaroni and Cheese I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Love it, added salt and pepper, next time will add dry mustard as a reader suggested
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Van Vuren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Absolutely delicious. This is company Fare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
It never fails, the more time I spend making a recipe the worse the meal comes out. This was no exception. It may have been because I listened to too many of the reviewers, but I wanted to make sure I got flavor and everything ran smoothly up until the eating part. I unfortunately listened to the reviewer that suggested adding the crackers to the top and putting the cheese on top of that. That made it taste very floury and prevented the cheese from flowing through to the rest of the mac and cheese. Bad move. I am going to try to scrape that off and re-do the cheese tonight and see what happens. And yeah, it did take a lot of pans! At least my husband ate it, mine went into the trash...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Blount Kerr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Yes. I loved it. We all know how to make a roux, take the time to let the flour brown just a bit. I love the use of penne pasta, that takes in all of the goodness of the sauce. I tend to add more milk ( I use fat free 1/2 and 1/2) for a creamer mac. I too caramelize my onions, and add the bacon 1/4 into the mac and the rest on top as my family wants. This is the go to, "it's so cold outside, want comfort food recipe".. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
This was ok, prefer Mouse's Mac & Cheese from this sight. Many Compliments and asked to make every holiday. Going to try it with bacon next time I make it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Butler, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly, I always do the first time and if I want changes I do it the second time. I will make this again but I will omit the onions they just didn't seem to belong. I will however keep the bacon, beacon belongs everywhere :-). Next time I will only use two TBS flour to my 2TBS butter and 2 cups of whole milk and a big pinch of nutmeg. Now after writing this I realize that I have just reverted back to my old recipe with the addition of bacon, hard to teach an old dog new tricks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Not bad, but to me this is a pasta dish, not Mac&Cheese. I definitely needed to add salt and pepper for seasoning to taste once it was on my plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Leave out the onions, use pancetta instead of bacon and use a mix of cheddar, gruyere and asiago for the cheese. To make it a real winner throw some panko breadcrumbs mixed with a little more cheese on top at the end and pop under the broiler, until browned, for a delicious crunchy texture and even more flavor. My 13 year old daughter and her friends will demolish a whole platter in minutes. If you're getting a floury taste - work on your roux. This should be pure creamy, cheesy goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Made this for a lo boil, and although it pretty much all got eaten, it was easily the worst dish there. It was not horrible, but even though I added quite a bit of freshly cooked/crumbled bacon and herbs, it still was pretty bland. I will probably cook it again, but I'll be adding a lot of other things to make it more flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This recipe, in my opinion, is 5 stars. And yes, I did alter it slightly, as I have to admit, I tend to do that based on my families preferences. I increased the pasta to 12oz, fried 6 pieces of bacon and then caramelized my onions in the bacon pan. I used all three cups of cheeses in my sauce and even added a little extra to the top before baking. Now here is where I really deviated! I took the spices from Chef Jonh's Mac and Cheese (from this site) and added them to my sauce. I also used his Panko topping as I prefer my Mac and cheese to have a crunchy topping. The reason why I love this site is not only for the recipes but because of the reviews! Countless times in the past (from cookbooks) I have made recipes that never turned out....I have made dozens of recipes from this site and I can honestly say that there was only one that wasn't a hit, it was good, but not a 'wow I would make that again'. And the reason for my success (other than my stellar cooking/baking skills ;) is because I read the recipes over and then the reviews to see what has worked countless times for everyone. I see nothing wrong with altering a recipe as I believe that is what cooking/baking is all about! If it wasn't for the recipe submitter playing around with recipes, it wouldn't be here for us to enjoy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States