Baked Macaroni and Cheese I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I'm giving this 5 stars because the cheese sauce was fantastic! I'm anxious to try it on broccoli. I left out the bacon, onion, and garlic and used elbow macaroni instead of penne. This was going to be the beginning of my search for a good mac and cheese recipe, but my search has ended before it really began :) This is neither a typical baked mac and cheese nor the cheesy Kraft kind... it's somewhere in between. I absolutely love that this recipe does not use processed cheese, and it does not need it, in my opinion. If anyone is getting a flour taste, you're not cooking the roux long enough. It needs a full two minutes on medium low heat before you start adding the milk. And you need to really nurse the cheese mixture a bit... constantly stir it and *gradually* add the milk and then the cheese for best results. I went ahead and mixed all 3 cups of cheese into the cheese sauce and didn't bother adding any to the top. I baked the whole thing for 25-30 minutes. It tasted even better the next day. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seneca, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Not the best mac & cheese I have had. I had to add extra flour and the sauce still didn't thicken. The recipe didn't list how much cheese to use either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J.j. Bichard

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Marietta, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
This was a huge hit with my family. My 3 year old son was even asking for seconds. I however, made a few changes out of necessity. First off, I didn't have any onion so that was omitted. Then because I was too lazy and short on time to defrost and cook any bacon, I chopped up some presliced pepperoni. I sauteed the roni with the garlic and drained off the extra grease. Then I didn't have enough cheddar cheese so I mixed in Monterey Jack and Mozzerella. I also was a bit worried when I mixed it all together and it seemed too runny so I baked it for an extra 10 minutes (30 minutes total). Absolutely, hands down, THE best mac and cheese recipe on the site!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This was the worst mac and cheese I have ever tasted. Even my 4 year old wouldn't eat it. I had to go back and review the recipe because I thought I did something wrong. It was tasteless and the texture was awful, eventhough I added a lot more cheese than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
I just made this and I thought it was tasty. I found that it needed A LOT of salt, although you wouldn't think so with all the bacon and cheese. I added dried mustard and I think it would also taste good with a pinch of cayenne pepper or with sauteed green/red peppers added. For my first homemade mac and cheese I thought this was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
This recipe was good.. I would have liked the sauce to be a little more creamier and less thick. But to give this recipe some EXTRA flavor I added: 1 additional glove of Garlic, 1/2 Tsp. Dijon Mustard, 1/2 Tsp. Cyane Pepper, 1/2 Tsp. Paprika and a couple shots of Worcestershire. Also for more flavor try different types of cheese. I used Mild White Cheddar and Monteray Jack Cheese. I also coverd for half the time so the cheese would be melted instead of extremely crispy! I would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Ryan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stanwood, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
I would have rated this more stars if I could.. LOL. My very picky g'daughter loved this version of mac and cheese!! She requested left over the next day. I did not add the veggies or bacon, just did the basic of butter, flour, milk, and cooked noodles. I also added dry mustard, salt, and pepper as another cook recommended! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
I didn't do the bacon because it just seemed like an ick thing to do. It was good, but not amazing. If I could do one thing over again it would be no garlic. It was a weird combo with the creaminess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
It was a little bland for me, next time I make it I will add sharp cheddar and maybe some more mustard powder. Overall it tasted good and great for a family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by us5moores

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
This is a super recipe! The more I make it, the better it gets. I have never had a problem getting the sauce to the right consistency. I put all the cheese in the sauce and put extra on the top. I also put salt & pepper in the sauce and use turkey bacon, instead of pork. I like to broil the cheese on top for a few minutes until it is golden brown. Excellent recipe - definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 307) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States