Baked Macaroni and Cheese I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Good Recipe, I left out bacon this time. Very good either way. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Very good recipe. I substituted turkey bacon for regular bacon and added 2 cups cheddar cheese and 1 cup reduced fat sharp cheddar. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
We can see how this could be considered a "bland" recipe, idea wise it was a great way to make mac & cheese and have it not be to "grainy" texture wise (using a roux) however, had we not used sharp cheddar, smoked cheddar, Chipotle cheddar, then used sharp and Parmesan on top, this could have been rather flavorless. We added more salt (season salt) as well. Great idea, just executed it differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrlzCn2
Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Marathon, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
YES! the onions add a nice sophistication, and we added frozen peas as well for a bit more health. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I have made this a few times and it is definately better without the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof3greatboys

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vilas, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I thought this was a nice recipe. I enjoyed the bacon and onion flavors because it made the usual mac and cheese so different. I did add bread crumbs on the top with the extra cheese, and that made a nice crust. I think I used too much pasta, but it was still great and I will make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Maine, USA
Living In: Middletown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
My husband made this for dinner tonight on a whim and it turned out great. We've been eating his mother's traditional mac & cheese with mixed success. Next time we'll try some of the other suggestions for variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallisville, Texas, USA
Living In: Crosby, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
WOW! This was really good! I used about 6 slices of bacon, removed from the pot when browned and then I used about 2 tsps of the bacon drippings to saute the chopped onions and garlic for a little extra flavour. After removing the onions and garlic I used the same pot to make the sauce. When adding the milk i added only about 1/4 cup at a time while constantly whisking to ensure that it would be smooth. Before adding the cheese i removed the milk from the direct heat and allowed it to cool for a moment so that it wouldn't be grainy. Best mac n cheese my family has ever had! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Not sure what to say, it was yummy, but a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minot

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Not the best macaroni and cheese I've tasted. I expected more. As my first time mac n cheese recipe, I did not want the flourry taste as some commented on. I followed some suggestions by reviewers but unfortunately did not substitute the flour for cornstarch. I had very slowly added the milk at low heat and waited forever for it to thicken. I did not use onions as I do not like them. I had it on low heat for over 10+ minutes without it thickening at all--still watery! the only way it would thicken is if i had raised it up to medium heat (and it still took some time to thicken with my constant stirring to prevent chunks/uneveness). I had used medium cheddar (the recipe didn't really state what type - i assumed mild). I took the sauce off heat for a few mins and added the cheddar very slowly while stirring. Overall, all of the time/effort to make this was not worth the end result. I was ok, but I was disappointed when I got a grainy taste after I had followed all of the other suggestions from the reviews. I wonder if cornstarch would serve better as a thickener and prevent the flour taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 307) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States