Baked Macaroni and Cheese I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I'm giving this 5 stars because the cheese sauce was fantastic! I'm anxious to try it on broccoli. I left out the bacon, onion, and garlic and used elbow macaroni instead of penne. This was going to be the beginning of my search for a good mac and cheese recipe, but my search has ended before it really began :) This is neither a typical baked mac and cheese nor the cheesy Kraft kind... it's somewhere in between. I absolutely love that this recipe does not use processed cheese, and it does not need it, in my opinion. If anyone is getting a flour taste, you're not cooking the roux long enough. It needs a full two minutes on medium low heat before you start adding the milk. And you need to really nurse the cheese mixture a bit... constantly stir it and *gradually* add the milk and then the cheese for best results. I went ahead and mixed all 3 cups of cheese into the cheese sauce and didn't bother adding any to the top. I baked the whole thing for 25-30 minutes. It tasted even better the next day. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seneca, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Not the best mac & cheese I have had. I had to add extra flour and the sauce still didn't thicken. The recipe didn't list how much cheese to use either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J.j. Bichard

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Marietta, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
This was a huge hit with my family. My 3 year old son was even asking for seconds. I however, made a few changes out of necessity. First off, I didn't have any onion so that was omitted. Then because I was too lazy and short on time to defrost and cook any bacon, I chopped up some presliced pepperoni. I sauteed the roni with the garlic and drained off the extra grease. Then I didn't have enough cheddar cheese so I mixed in Monterey Jack and Mozzerella. I also was a bit worried when I mixed it all together and it seemed too runny so I baked it for an extra 10 minutes (30 minutes total). Absolutely, hands down, THE best mac and cheese recipe on the site!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This was the worst mac and cheese I have ever tasted. Even my 4 year old wouldn't eat it. I had to go back and review the recipe because I thought I did something wrong. It was tasteless and the texture was awful, eventhough I added a lot more cheese than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
I just made this and I thought it was tasty. I found that it needed A LOT of salt, although you wouldn't think so with all the bacon and cheese. I added dried mustard and I think it would also taste good with a pinch of cayenne pepper or with sauteed green/red peppers added. For my first homemade mac and cheese I thought this was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
This recipe was good.. I would have liked the sauce to be a little more creamier and less thick. But to give this recipe some EXTRA flavor I added: 1 additional glove of Garlic, 1/2 Tsp. Dijon Mustard, 1/2 Tsp. Cyane Pepper, 1/2 Tsp. Paprika and a couple shots of Worcestershire. Also for more flavor try different types of cheese. I used Mild White Cheddar and Monteray Jack Cheese. I also coverd for half the time so the cheese would be melted instead of extremely crispy! I would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Ryan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stanwood, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
I would have rated this more stars if I could.. LOL. My very picky g'daughter loved this version of mac and cheese!! She requested left over the next day. I did not add the veggies or bacon, just did the basic of butter, flour, milk, and cooked noodles. I also added dry mustard, salt, and pepper as another cook recommended! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
I didn't do the bacon because it just seemed like an ick thing to do. It was good, but not amazing. If I could do one thing over again it would be no garlic. It was a weird combo with the creaminess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
It was a little bland for me, next time I make it I will add sharp cheddar and maybe some more mustard powder. Overall it tasted good and great for a family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by us5moores

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
This is a super recipe! The more I make it, the better it gets. I have never had a problem getting the sauce to the right consistency. I put all the cheese in the sauce and put extra on the top. I also put salt & pepper in the sauce and use turkey bacon, instead of pork. I like to broil the cheese on top for a few minutes until it is golden brown. Excellent recipe - definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States