Baked Macaroni and Cheese I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Everyone Loved this. However, I added more bacon and used cheddar and mozzarella and provalone cheeses (I am not a big cheese person )it is so easy as well (which really calls for a lot of will power,LOL)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by La Donis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
My kids would give this a million stars if they could, and that is a direct quote from them. They were in love with this recipe and have requested it twice in the last week. I mean, what's not to love, pasta, cheese, and bacon?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
The first thing my husband said was "Im never going back to Kraft Macaroni again"!! It really was that delicious. I read ahead to the other comments before preparing myself and the only modifications I made was I added a 1/2 tsp of Garlic Powder, and Salt and Pepper. Otherwise i followed the directions. Just remember to be patient making the sauce and it will turn out great. I will definitely be sharing this recipe with others and it will be a staple at our table from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by virgie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This is a pretty good mac and cheese recipe. I added mustard and lots of pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This recipe is great! The bacon and onion add just a little kick that keeps it from being plain old mac and cheese. I made it using an 8 oz block of Cabot extra sharp cheddar that I shredded myself. Definitely a keeper in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
was a bit dry and did not like the lumby texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I added 3 cooked, cut up hot dogs to this and my kids went NUTS. They loved it! I didn't have penne, so I used tri-colored rotini I had. Added panko bread crumbs to the top at the end--perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Good, simple recipe. My husband doesn't like homemade macaroni & cheese, but he enjoyed this. I agree with a number of reviews that adding a few extras to zip up the flavor a bit is good. I used ziti but will use elbow macaroni next time. I did not have mustard on hand but added some ground red pepper and increased to four strips of bacon, which still weren't noticeable enough for our tastes (so I will use six or even eight next time!). I did two cloves of garlic and will increase that to three. Also, I will increase the amount of butter to match the flour 3/3 (I have only ever read that it's equal amounts). This was extremely dry and pasty in the pan and I could not cook it for the suggested two minutes for fear of burning the flour. I look forward to trying this again with the above-suggested alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I was looking for a simple, basic, but tasty Mac n Cheese recipe. I would have to say this is the one! The recipe is excellent as it is, only made minor changes. One of the most critical, I think for taste was to use the same "cast iron ' pan through the whole process. From frying the bacon to cooking the onion and garlic, to making the roux. Then finally in the end adding the cooked pasta to the pan and then putting the same pan in the oven. I didn't measure exactly how much cheese I used, but it was probably at least a cup more! Everyone loved it, even my non onion loving daughter had to take leftovers to school this morning! This will be added to my recipe box !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crabman63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delaware City, Delaware, USA
Living In: New Castle, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
My kids loved it! Only gave it 4 stars because I tweaked the recipe a lot due to what I had on hand. I left out the bacon and onion (bummer). I used 2c cheddar and 1 c mozarella, and put fresh grated parmesan on top. I also added a little dry mustard and chili powder to the sauce. My kids gobbled up and have requested I make it all the time. Next time I'll add the bacon or maybe stir in some ricotta as I thought it was too dry (my own fault, I bet it's fine with the additional fat from the bacon and onion). Just a note to those that might find the sauce gritty: Pre-shredded cheese usually has flour or some other starch on it to keep it from clumping in the bag (that's what gives the cheese the dusty look). If using pre-shredded be sure to melt/stir the sauce long enough to not only melt the cheese but to fully blend that additional starch into the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States