Baked Macaroni and Cheese I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Good, simple recipe. My husband doesn't like homemade macaroni & cheese, but he enjoyed this. I agree with a number of reviews that adding a few extras to zip up the flavor a bit is good. I used ziti but will use elbow macaroni next time. I did not have mustard on hand but added some ground red pepper and increased to four strips of bacon, which still weren't noticeable enough for our tastes (so I will use six or even eight next time!). I did two cloves of garlic and will increase that to three. Also, I will increase the amount of butter to match the flour 3/3 (I have only ever read that it's equal amounts). This was extremely dry and pasty in the pan and I could not cook it for the suggested two minutes for fear of burning the flour. I look forward to trying this again with the above-suggested alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I was looking for a simple, basic, but tasty Mac n Cheese recipe. I would have to say this is the one! The recipe is excellent as it is, only made minor changes. One of the most critical, I think for taste was to use the same "cast iron ' pan through the whole process. From frying the bacon to cooking the onion and garlic, to making the roux. Then finally in the end adding the cooked pasta to the pan and then putting the same pan in the oven. I didn't measure exactly how much cheese I used, but it was probably at least a cup more! Everyone loved it, even my non onion loving daughter had to take leftovers to school this morning! This will be added to my recipe box !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crabman63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delaware City, Delaware, USA
Living In: New Castle, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
My kids loved it! Only gave it 4 stars because I tweaked the recipe a lot due to what I had on hand. I left out the bacon and onion (bummer). I used 2c cheddar and 1 c mozarella, and put fresh grated parmesan on top. I also added a little dry mustard and chili powder to the sauce. My kids gobbled up and have requested I make it all the time. Next time I'll add the bacon or maybe stir in some ricotta as I thought it was too dry (my own fault, I bet it's fine with the additional fat from the bacon and onion). Just a note to those that might find the sauce gritty: Pre-shredded cheese usually has flour or some other starch on it to keep it from clumping in the bag (that's what gives the cheese the dusty look). If using pre-shredded be sure to melt/stir the sauce long enough to not only melt the cheese but to fully blend that additional starch into the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
This was an amazing recipe, though I added more cheese than it called for and it was just barely enough to cover the pasta (perhaps i just cooked too much pasta? I'm not very precise about these things). I also added ground beef as well as the bacon. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Very simple and super comforting. I did end up tripling the bacon and adding just a little more cheese in the "sauce" as we like our noodles SUPER cheesy. I also used elbow macaroni because that was all I had. It was hard to keep myself at one serving, this is total comfort food. There's just something about adding fresh onion and garlic to macaroni and cheese. NOTE: I do make this a little more personal with just a touch of dijon mustard and a little hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
this was by far the best mac and cheese we ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Good flavor, but my sauce turned out a little grainy. I'm going to keep trying to find an awesome mac and cheese recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
When making the roux you can also substitute the butter with bacon fat. I save my bacon drippings in a mason jar in the freezer and use it all the time when cooking. It works great in this dish since we are adding bacon anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
We add a can of quartered artichokes and use about half the cheese but this is great! Hubby asks for it every other week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Steubenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grove City, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I thought this recipe was great! I will preface my review with the fact that I have never made macaroni from scratch before and am still learning a lot about cooking. As always, lots of previous reviews helped me. Those along with my own suggestions: (1) use 3 cups cheese in the sauce, (2) mix up the cheeses - i did 2 cups sharp cheddar, 1 cup colby jack, and a little bit of both mixed with parmesan on top, (3) a light coating of bread crumbs under the top layer of cheese. For my version, I used a whole 13.5 oz box of whole grain macaroni noodles and it was perfect. I did not add the onions or bacon (working with limited time and a large group) but I did add cumin as suggested (and, as noted, couldn't taste it at all so I guess it was a good thing??). I had to google "roux" and was glad I did since mixing flour and water seemed a bit odd. The sauce took longer than I anticipated. I was unsure at what point the roux/milk mixture thickened but someone had noted that as soon as it thickens at all, it's done. So, I went with that. Will turn the stove up slightly above Low next time bc I think it was not hot enough (and therefore took longer). I baked it for about 15 minutes but then covered it with foil for a bit longer. I got A LOT of compliments (served it with slow cooker bbq pork and California Coleslaw which is from allrecipes too). Will definitely be making this macaroni again --- so sad there were no leftovers!!! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States