Baked Macaroni and Cheese I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
My kids loved it! Only gave it 4 stars because I tweaked the recipe a lot due to what I had on hand. I left out the bacon and onion (bummer). I used 2c cheddar and 1 c mozarella, and put fresh grated parmesan on top. I also added a little dry mustard and chili powder to the sauce. My kids gobbled up and have requested I make it all the time. Next time I'll add the bacon or maybe stir in some ricotta as I thought it was too dry (my own fault, I bet it's fine with the additional fat from the bacon and onion). Just a note to those that might find the sauce gritty: Pre-shredded cheese usually has flour or some other starch on it to keep it from clumping in the bag (that's what gives the cheese the dusty look). If using pre-shredded be sure to melt/stir the sauce long enough to not only melt the cheese but to fully blend that additional starch into the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
This was an amazing recipe, though I added more cheese than it called for and it was just barely enough to cover the pasta (perhaps i just cooked too much pasta? I'm not very precise about these things). I also added ground beef as well as the bacon. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Very simple and super comforting. I did end up tripling the bacon and adding just a little more cheese in the "sauce" as we like our noodles SUPER cheesy. I also used elbow macaroni because that was all I had. It was hard to keep myself at one serving, this is total comfort food. There's just something about adding fresh onion and garlic to macaroni and cheese. NOTE: I do make this a little more personal with just a touch of dijon mustard and a little hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
this was by far the best mac and cheese we ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Good flavor, but my sauce turned out a little grainy. I'm going to keep trying to find an awesome mac and cheese recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
When making the roux you can also substitute the butter with bacon fat. I save my bacon drippings in a mason jar in the freezer and use it all the time when cooking. It works great in this dish since we are adding bacon anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
We add a can of quartered artichokes and use about half the cheese but this is great! Hubby asks for it every other week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Steubenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grove City, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I thought this recipe was great! I will preface my review with the fact that I have never made macaroni from scratch before and am still learning a lot about cooking. As always, lots of previous reviews helped me. Those along with my own suggestions: (1) use 3 cups cheese in the sauce, (2) mix up the cheeses - i did 2 cups sharp cheddar, 1 cup colby jack, and a little bit of both mixed with parmesan on top, (3) a light coating of bread crumbs under the top layer of cheese. For my version, I used a whole 13.5 oz box of whole grain macaroni noodles and it was perfect. I did not add the onions or bacon (working with limited time and a large group) but I did add cumin as suggested (and, as noted, couldn't taste it at all so I guess it was a good thing??). I had to google "roux" and was glad I did since mixing flour and water seemed a bit odd. The sauce took longer than I anticipated. I was unsure at what point the roux/milk mixture thickened but someone had noted that as soon as it thickens at all, it's done. So, I went with that. Will turn the stove up slightly above Low next time bc I think it was not hot enough (and therefore took longer). I baked it for about 15 minutes but then covered it with foil for a bit longer. I got A LOT of compliments (served it with slow cooker bbq pork and California Coleslaw which is from allrecipes too). Will definitely be making this macaroni again --- so sad there were no leftovers!!! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I used jalapeno bacon which gave it a nice flavor. I probably will add some cayenne next time. Great base recipe to embellish as you please!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kdsale

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
We followed the recipe exactly, except we used whole wheat ingredients. It was good! If I were to make it again, I would probably add a bit more spice, as it was rather bland, but my kids ate it, which was a huge compliment!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: River Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States