Baked Macaroni and Cheese I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Both my boyfriend and I were excited to try this dish but were sorely disappointed. It just tasted like flour/extremely bland. Perhaps I did something wrong but I followed the recipe exactly except used vegan bacon bits because I'm vegetarian. I did not care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
the only change that i made to this was the noodles, other than that followed it to a T and we still didnt like it. the bacon added a nice flavor but i wont be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghan Jean Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Nebraska City, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This is a good basic recipe. I do agree with an other reviewer that the basic roux definitely needs salt, pepper and dry mustard (1/2tsp) and needs to be cooked long enough to prevent the "floury" taste. The reason you don't want the sauce to be too thick, is that you want the sauce to get inside the elbow or penne pasta. The sauce will thicken as the M&C bakes in the oven. Almost everything else is a matter of taste and you can adjust the amount of bacon, onion & garlic to your liking. I prefer sharp cheddar, but any cheese will do. Finally, I've been making baked M&C for about 45 years. Before baking I spread a cup of cubed cheese over the top of the casserole along with cornflake crumbs and a little salt and pepper. This makes a wonderful crust on the top. Served with a side of stewed tomatoes and peanut butter muffins!! Love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I absolutely loved this. It is so creamy and rich. I may add a little more bacon next time. Also a great recipe to replace lobster for the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Great Mac and Cheese recipe even though I made it healthier -- turkey bacon, low fat cheese, corn pasta and skim milk. I added some peas and dry mustard to add some kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWRDPRINCESS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This recipe was not bad but it was a little bland. After reading some of the other reviews, I too will definitely add a little something to flavor it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Everyone Loved this. However, I added more bacon and used cheddar and mozzarella and provalone cheeses (I am not a big cheese person )it is so easy as well (which really calls for a lot of will power,LOL)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by La Donis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
My kids would give this a million stars if they could, and that is a direct quote from them. They were in love with this recipe and have requested it twice in the last week. I mean, what's not to love, pasta, cheese, and bacon?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
The first thing my husband said was "Im never going back to Kraft Macaroni again"!! It really was that delicious. I read ahead to the other comments before preparing myself and the only modifications I made was I added a 1/2 tsp of Garlic Powder, and Salt and Pepper. Otherwise i followed the directions. Just remember to be patient making the sauce and it will turn out great. I will definitely be sharing this recipe with others and it will be a staple at our table from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by virgie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This is a pretty good mac and cheese recipe. I added mustard and lots of pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States