Baked Macaroni and Cheese I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
This is the recipe I use for mac and cheese; however, I add a can of chopped tomatoes and chilies and a little less milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
This is a staple in our house, I never really liked mac and cheese until I tried this recipe. I add a little dijon mustard and a dash of Worcestershire sauce to the roux for a little extra flavor, and I omit the bacon. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Harris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oak Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
Pretty good but will keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwich, New York, USA
Living In: Lebanon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
Didn't use onion, replaced garlic with abount 1/2 tsp garlic powder and added paprika. Husband loved it, we don't have kids yet, but he said "will you make this for our kids?". I think it's good comfort food, and an excellent replacement for box mac n cheese...b/c who knows what actually goes in that????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princesslane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belfair, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
I skipped the bacon and it was still a good mac and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
A suggestion for making white sauce - warm the milk in the microwave before adding to the roux. Just whisk a lot as you add the milk, and it will thicken faster and turn out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
this was excellent. my boyfriend went back for thirds and his friend had seconds. it makes the perfect amount, and the leftovers are great too! i made a few minor changes. im a vegetarian so i didnt use bacon at all. i sauteed onions and garlic in a little olive oil. for the cheese i added a little extra cheddar and also some mozzarella/provolone shredded cheese i had. i topped it with more cheese, then i crushed up some ritz crackers and multigrain club crackers and covered the top with those, and then put a layer of shredded parmesean over that. nice and crunchy! the roux is really easy. if you're having trouble, use a wisk and add the milk by half cups. just wait for it to thicken, it will. will make again and again! *EDIT* finally got the perfect cheese blend. It's sharp cheddar, colby, and provolone in the sauce, and shredded parm on top. mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaPulk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
I wish I would've read the comments before posting my earlier post. This dish was very easy to make and it was my first time making homemade mac & cheese. I add velveta cheese along with the sharp chedder, my hubby doesn't eat anything with out velveta! Was very good. But can be bland without adding salt when baking. We just added it to our plate when needed. Otherwise was very very good, even the INLAWS loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
I'm giving this great recipe 5 stars, but I made it slightly differently. No bacon. I made caramelized onions, which tasted excellent in the dish so I recommend it for sure. The cheese sauce which is made from a roux needs to be modified. Once you have melted the butter, added the flour and then milk, you need to simmer the mixture over low heat for about 8-10 minutes & stir occasionally making sure it does not burn. This is to cook down the flour and make a nice paste. Then add the cheese, and some nutmeg always adds that extra perfect touch to cheese sauce. I also added some garlic powder and cayanne. I love this recipe and next time I will throw in some stewed tomatoes as well. Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Capitola, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
I'm not a huge mac and cheese fan, but this was great! Will make often, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Lynn  Pullman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Butte, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States