Baked Macaroni and Cheese I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Leave out the onions, use pancetta instead of bacon and use a mix of cheddar, gruyere and asiago for the cheese. To make it a real winner throw some panko breadcrumbs mixed with a little more cheese on top at the end and pop under the broiler, until browned, for a delicious crunchy texture and even more flavor. My 13 year old daughter and her friends will demolish a whole platter in minutes. If you're getting a floury taste - work on your roux. This should be pure creamy, cheesy goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Made this for a lo boil, and although it pretty much all got eaten, it was easily the worst dish there. It was not horrible, but even though I added quite a bit of freshly cooked/crumbled bacon and herbs, it still was pretty bland. I will probably cook it again, but I'll be adding a lot of other things to make it more flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This recipe, in my opinion, is 5 stars. And yes, I did alter it slightly, as I have to admit, I tend to do that based on my families preferences. I increased the pasta to 12oz, fried 6 pieces of bacon and then caramelized my onions in the bacon pan. I used all three cups of cheeses in my sauce and even added a little extra to the top before baking. Now here is where I really deviated! I took the spices from Chef Jonh's Mac and Cheese (from this site) and added them to my sauce. I also used his Panko topping as I prefer my Mac and cheese to have a crunchy topping. The reason why I love this site is not only for the recipes but because of the reviews! Countless times in the past (from cookbooks) I have made recipes that never turned out....I have made dozens of recipes from this site and I can honestly say that there was only one that wasn't a hit, it was good, but not a 'wow I would make that again'. And the reason for my success (other than my stellar cooking/baking skills ;) is because I read the recipes over and then the reviews to see what has worked countless times for everyone. I see nothing wrong with altering a recipe as I believe that is what cooking/baking is all about! If it wasn't for the recipe submitter playing around with recipes, it wouldn't be here for us to enjoy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I tried this recipe and liked it but made a few minor changes. Before putting it in the oven, I drained a can of Italian flavored diced tomatoes and placed them on top of the casserole - then instead of a cup of shredded cheddar, I cut slices of cheddar into strips and put on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flis 1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Made it with gluten-free penne and subbed a can of evaporated milk because I was out of milk. Topped with double the amount of bacon. Very tasty - a more "grown up" mac n cheese. My kids like mac n cheese plain but I enjoyed this recipe. Make sure to add plenty of salt and pepper to season the sauce well and a 1/2 tsp of garlic powder is a good addition to consider.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monika Benoit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This was a fantastic supper dish - I livened the cheese sauce up a little with some salt, pepper and mustard powder but apart from that followed it to the letter. Although the sauce tasted still a little floury before baking it had gone by the time the dish was ready! It looked amazing for presentation and went well with a lovely fresh salad.....total comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
well the sauce does thicken but it does take time and stirring. in other words... do not walk away and just bring it to boil. YOU WILL NOT GET THE SAME RESULTS. that being said i did you half an onion like others suggested. i also used some of the bacon fat and mixed this with the bacon mixture and the breadcrumbs and used this as the topping instead of mixing it in. I also added some gruyere and parmesean and took out some cheddar. it killed me to do that but it was soooo worth it! SUPER CHEESY! adding a pinch more salt i mixed it with small shell pasta and out it came from the oven and then into my belly. I tweaked a little but over all great recipe and not too difficult to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pegasus

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I have made this numerous times. My favorite Mac and Cheese recipe! I add more bacon than called for simply because I LOVE bacon and it adds great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Great Mac and Cheese recipe! I increased the amount of bacon and used Mexican Cheese because my husband is not a cheddar cheese fan. He liked it that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I followed everything in the recipe and mine turned out really bland. I would suggest adding more bacon, and using some salt & pepper too. The flour and butter clumped up and took forever to thicken the milk. If this dish was a little more flavorful, it would've been good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States