Baked Mac and Cheese with Sour Cream and Cottage Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I added a few spices to make it a little more personal to our family (onion powder, garlic powder, little dijon mustard, little Frank's Hot Sauce, fresh ground pepper) but other than that, I kept to the recipe. I did not try this myself but I was told by my husband that the kids really liked it. They both had seconds. My husband said it was good but a little thick for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
You dont actually need 2 bags of mild cheddar cheese, comes out fine! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I loved how easy this was. My daughter and husband loved it. It turned out creamy and yummy. They don't like cottage cheese, so I substituted plain yogurt. I really liked the fact that I didn't have to use flour and butter to make a roux. Not having to do that step saved me time in the kitchen. Great recipe! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
This was really good stuff. Very very rich, however, so don't think you'll be able to eat a ton of this at one sitting. (Which is really good because as good as it is just from the oven, it's BETTER the next day.) Anyway, I made a half recipe, using GF pasta (Tinkyada penne since that's what I had). I subbed ricotta for the cottage cheese (what I had.) Used to much ricotta, but had already added half the sour cream. Used a whole egg (not half.) It worked fine! Then, for the cheese, I used a scale and started with 1/2 cup grated parmesan then added a mexican mix to the 16 oz mark (then removed about 1/2+ cup mexican mix for the topping.) I had to mix this with my hands, it was so thick! Then, putting the pasta in was difficult. However, SO WORTH IT. Very forgiving recipe, as you can see. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
it was thick and creamy, very good, but I prefer a stronger flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Usually I make mac & cheese using a roux and then adding the cheese to that before mixing in with the macaroni. This recipe caught my eye because it is different and easier in that it isn't necessary to cook the sauce. Also, I had a container of sour cream that needed to be used. So, it was the perfect recipe. We loved this -- I have to say that I was very pleasantly surprised the way it turned out as I was sceptical of no roux/cheese sauce. I followed the recipe for the most part, although I sautéed diced onion and a red bell pepper, also diced, to add to the mixture. I had some tomatoes that needed to be used so I chopped those roughly and included them (peeled them first). I did not have cottage cheese so I used plain yoghurt as another person did. We loved the flavour of the sour cream and yoghurt. It gave it a very subtle tang, not overpowering, but just so that you were like, mmmm, what is this I'm tasting? Very, very good. I used about the amount of cheese called for, maybe a little more. I did sprinkle some on top as called for in the recipe. I also sprinkled paprika all over the top. Not only did the dish taste really good, it looked terrific when I took it out of the oven. Because I made it ahead and had it in the refrigerator, before I put it in the oven, I put about a half a cup or more of milk in. I just poured some slowly over the top of the casserole. It worked perfectly and the macaroni and cheese was moist, not dry at all. Recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maggieroze

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Living In: Huddersfield, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
This dish was very easy to make and everyone seemed to enjoy it. I did add a little bit of half and half because the cheese mixture is very thick. Turned out great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I liked it OK, but next time I'd add all med. or sharp cheese, one more egg and a half cup of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Mom's Baked Macaroni and Cheese

This easy recipe yields creamy, gooey, delicious mac and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States