Baked Mac and Cheese for One Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
This is my go-to recipe for homemade Mac! While I've tried others from this site, this one just beats them all. It's creamy, flavorful and easy to increase servings size with no ill effects. I prefer cavatappi noodles, cook them 6 minutes, because it gives it a more grown up texture. I made this for Easter dinner, so I increased it to 12 servings. It feels like too much milk-flour ratio, but if you let it sit for about ten minutes, just below a boil, the roux is perfect! I have added pancetta in the past to make it a main course. This last time I added frozen peas/carrots to the roux and let it sit for ten minutes before adding the pasta back. I like my Mac n cheese with color. In addition, I don't always do this, but this time I used vanilla coconut milk and it gave it a slightly sweet taste. I skipped the Tabasco as I used a true Dijon mustard with Chardonnay in place of the ground mustard. This gave it a tang and helped balance out the flavor. Believe it or not, the first time I made this I followed the recipe to a T, terrific! But all of these changes have not turned it on its head and I will continue to experiment with different ideas. For now, no one has complained. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Annie LaMountain
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
AMAZING RECIPE. One thing, add a ton more pasta than it says. Following this recipe the ratio of pasta to cheese sauce was like 1:3. That's good if you like cheese, but even then it is wayyyy too much. In the future I would double the pasta but keep everything else the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie LaMountain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Changed servings to 2.Love this recipe,added a little more cheddar and some asiago.Bye bye to boxed Mac/Cheese.Add tuna or ham,just let your imagination go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Really simple and so yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Made in personal bowls and added crushed bacon and was gone in minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Marsan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
My niece (14) made this for a recent family dinner. She is just learning to cook and therefore followed the recipe to the letter, only scaling up to make 8 servings. While it was not my favorite mac & cheese ever, it was good. The mustard, Worcestershire, and hot sauce combine to add an interesting depth of flavor. It was cheesy, creamy, and not too soupy as others have mentioned. Once you pull it out of the oven, allow it to set up for for at least 5 minutes. To those who found this grainy, try making the roux (butter and flour) first and let cook 2-3 minutes before adding the milk and spices. This will cook the flour taste away and should result in a nice creamy sauce. How anyone can say a box is better than this is beyond me. And "doctoring" with velveeta? Gross!! That's not even real cheese. Go for "real" ingredients! The 'chef' was pleased with her results, and there were no leftovers. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by caroline cooks
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Portion controlled mac n cheese! It's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caroline cooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
This has become a staple in our house, it's a great recipe! You get a little kick and flavor with the hot sauce. I usually add leftover chicken, turkey or bacon to give it a little more protein. I would recommend this to any mac n' cheese lover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I have made this recipe twice. The first time it wasn't thick enough or cheesy enough. The second time I made it I used aged white cheddar and Wisconsin cheese and cooked the sauce longer. It was fantastic. Even reheated it was moist and flavorful. Am going to try it with several different cheeses to change the taste but will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Lucas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I changed the servings to 8, and what I got was an incredibly salty, soupy mess. I even drained some of the milk mixture off before baking. Wouldn't make again. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eddy Sanders

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States