Baked Lentils with Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I loved this dish. My husband I are runners and trying to eat healthier. I like lentils and the comment posted with this recipe (husband approved) convinced me to give it a try. As I put it together (and especially when I pulled the finished product out of the oven), I was sure I was in for a fight at dinner. All the kids ate it (some were not exactly thrilled), but my picky 9 year old daughter said it was really good!! She even asked to take the leftovers for lunch. I loved it and couldn't believe how much flavor it packed! Of course, the best part is that it tastes great AND is very healthful. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
This was very good, and you can modify it based on what you have in your pantry at the time. I used fresh thyme and left out the sage. I only had half a bell pepper, so I added an extra stalk of celery and some fresh mushrooms and it turned out great! I also used half cheddar and half mozarella. My meat loving husband loved it too, and it makes plenty so you can enjoy leftovers the next day, would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
This recipe is from the More with Less cookbook - I was asking my mom for the recipe she used to make and she pointed me to this cookbook. It's really tasty and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Wow, I was looking for an easy side to use up some lentils and had everything on hand for this delicious treat. I did mix a little mozzarella cheese with the cheddar. Will make this again and recommend highly, thank you Tiffany!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2013
This was delicious!! It is a recipe where you can play around with the seasonings and vegetables. Next time I will cook the bell pepper longer--it was not as tender as the other vegetables. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
What a lovely way to have lentil stew! This was so comforting on a cold winter night and I truly enjoyed it. I did omit the green pepper as I am not really a fan of it. Otherwise I made it as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
A few years ago, when I had an 8-month-old baby and was pregnant with another, I came home from work to this incredible dish cooking in the oven. My mother-in-law had made it for my birthday dinner. I ate it like there was no tomorrow, and every time I make it, I can't believe how delicious something this healthy can be. It's one of my husband's and my very favorite foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janita McNemar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
These are cheap simple and delicious. I add everything all at once and it cooks fine. Delicious and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This was excellent, and has the ever elusive "husband seal of approval", not to mention that of my 3 year old and 8-month old! I did like another reviewer and threw everything in at once and baked for about an hour, then put the cheese on top, and it turned out just fine. I would perhaps suggest stirring once or twice if you do that, just to make sure the lentils on top get cooked properly, but even with a couple of crunchy ones, it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States