Baked Lentils with Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
So savory and delicious! Very filling too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
I chose this recipe because we have started a new lifestyle change - cutting out highly processed foods and adding more highly nutritious foods to our diet. So I was looking for something new we'd never had. I did make some changes to this recipe. First I used homemade vegetable stock in place of the water and ended up using 3 cups total. I used a mixture of red & brown lentils because the recipe didn't specify. I omitted the marjoram & sage because I didn't have them. I used 1 tsp minced garlic from a jar and a mixture of red/green/yellow peppers because that's what I had. I sautéed the onion, carrots, celery, and green peppers for about 5 minutes in a little olive oil for added flavor. I also didn't read the directions thoroughly and ended up combining everything but the cheese in the pan. I baked it for 30 minutes at 350 and checked it, the liquid was gone (which is why I added another cup as stated above for a total of 3 cups) at this point I turned my oven up to 400 covered with foil and baked an additional 45-55 minutes, checking a few times for doneness. I also added onion powder, garlic powder, and oregano - to taste because it was too bland for my tastes. I did not bake it with the cheese it melted without putting it back in the oven. This isn't a dish I will cook every week, but it changes things up and I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laceyworks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
This recipe came from a vegetarian cookbook from the 70s or early 80s and has been one of my staples, whenever looking for a meatless dish. My husband, an ardent meat-etarian, loves it. Over the years I've made lots of changes, depending on what vegetables I have on hand. Leeks, mushrooms, different kinds of peppers, celery root, and different herbs, each giving a unique twist. It becomes an excellent base for whatever flavours you crave. I generally use chicken or vegetable broth instead of water. I also sometimes sauté the veg first to develop a bit more flavour, but I do like the way the recipe suggests you add the veg, too, which helps maintain their original shape. Also I've used different kinds of cheese. Swiss gives it a nutty taste. Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
A great side dish when looking for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
My super picky kids, all four of them are this and told me we can have this for dinner all the time. I did blend the veggies in my nutribullet so they couldn't see them but otherwise followed it to the letter. Will have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
What a lovely way to have lentil stew! This was so comforting on a cold winter night and I truly enjoyed it. I did omit the green pepper as I am not really a fan of it. Otherwise I made it as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Wow, I was looking for an easy side to use up some lentils and had everything on hand for this delicious treat. I did mix a little mozzarella cheese with the cheddar. Will make this again and recommend highly, thank you Tiffany!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
A few years ago, when I had an 8-month-old baby and was pregnant with another, I came home from work to this incredible dish cooking in the oven. My mother-in-law had made it for my birthday dinner. I ate it like there was no tomorrow, and every time I make it, I can't believe how delicious something this healthy can be. It's one of my husband's and my very favorite foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janita McNemar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This is such a good, satisfying homey recipe.I love that it is meatless. The seasonings, texture, colors, and healthfulness of this recipe has made it a go-to for many years. My kids loved it when they were younger, my husband (who is a profound meat eater) really loves it too. I don't change a thing in the recipe. NOTE: It makes a huge amount - for just my husband and me, I usually cut the recipe in half, and even then, we have leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patsy Shipman Weidenbach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
If I was to make this recipe again I would pre-cook the Carrots and the Celery. Alternatively I would make the cooking time longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States